Triple Screens


  • Please log in to reply
52 replies to this topic

#41 EFulghum

EFulghum

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 2,452 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Springfield, TN USA

Posted 09 June 2017 - 08:36 AM

I have "Surround"... maybe that is not set correctly.
oAo - Heavy Metal Racing - Division1, group4

#42 EFulghum

EFulghum

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 2,452 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Springfield, TN USA

Posted 10 June 2017 - 08:51 AM

I do not have such a file as "GEM/Rasteriser/Custom Resolution".
"Surround", the Nvidia version, does not work. It makes a mess of everything.
I'm at a loss. I don't know what I did to set this up the first time. I don't remember entering any resolutions in a list. Any help would be appreciated.


Eric
oAo - Heavy Metal Racing - Division1, group4

#43 EFulghum

EFulghum

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 2,452 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Springfield, TN USA

Posted 10 June 2017 - 09:59 AM

Ok....
It is working now. But I missed the race :(
I did not have to enter anything into GEM.
The "Surround" feature was jumbling the monitors and I just had to make sure it wasn't.
Windows didn't make it easy tho. Stupid Microsoft - they can't write programs that hold settings no matter what. Aargh!

Now when I start GPL Glance, the program starts, but it is nowhere on the desktop. How can I make it show itself. And no, clicking on the icon in the quick-launch tray on the left does not make it show.


Wtf?!?!?


Eric
oAo - Heavy Metal Racing - Division1, group4

#44 Robert Fleurke

Robert Fleurke

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 2,210 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Groningen
  • Interests:Life

Posted 10 June 2017 - 03:50 PM

Sorry to hear Eric, a bad day for Heavy Metal Racing :(

W10 I guess...glad I sticked with W7, and if I buy a new W10 PC I'll still put W7 on it...

Maybe this song can give some comfort :punk:



#45 GrandPrixYannick

GrandPrixYannick

    The Flying Dutchman

  • Members
  • 271 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:GPL, I think?? :)

Posted 10 June 2017 - 04:15 PM

Thanks for reminding me that I still need to take a proper look through their discography :P  :rockon:
"Grand Prix Legends is a drug. I am addicted to it."
- Based on a quote of Harry Schell

#46 EFulghum

EFulghum

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 2,452 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Springfield, TN USA

Posted 11 June 2017 - 12:26 AM

Thanks Robert.
....however, I am using Windows7  ;)
oAo - Heavy Metal Racing - Division1, group4

#47 Robert Fleurke

Robert Fleurke

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 2,210 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Groningen
  • Interests:Life

Posted 11 June 2017 - 05:44 AM

View PostEFulghum, on 11 June 2017 - 12:26 AM, said:

Thanks Robert.
....however, I am using Windows7  ;)

Ah, did you use Windows restore possibly!? That will change program setings (ini's etc). Might have to do with W7 updates if you have that set on automatically.

@ Yannick: that is AA's best album by far. Also the album before this one, and the one after are OK, but this was their only masterpiece IMO ;)

Edited by Robert Fleurke, 15 June 2017 - 02:15 PM.


#48 Pepe Higdon

Pepe Higdon

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 702 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Daytona Beach, Florida

Posted 11 March 2019 - 09:44 PM

Thanks to the encouragement and advice of Robert and Kayo, I installed triple screens over the weekend, three 22" AOC G2260VWQ6 monitors driven by an Nvidia GTX 1070 card and display port cables. I had the usual installation woes figuring out software issues that are listed earlier in this thread, but the result was, as others have accurately described, complete immersion. I used the setup last night in a UKGPL race at Anderstorp with a Cooper and it was successful beyond my best hopes.

There remains one significant problem. The field of view (FoV) that I've set in GEM+ is 125o. That was fine for the Cooper's mirrors, but the Ferrari's mirrors are cut off at the bottom. Furthermore, using the F10 key to alternate between cockpit and arcade/helicopter view doesn't provide nearly enough of the view that I've been accustomed to with a single monitor. My entire purpose in going to three screens was to achieve better awareness of being overtaken by other cars, but now I find that I've limited myself even further. Still, I have to say, once you're driven in a three-screen setup, a single monitor pretty much looks like being back on the farm after you've seen the Champs-Elysees.

Bob Simpson in an early post here says that the FoV is capped by the game at about 120o. Entering higher values in GEM changes nothing. I agree. Eric and Robert have mentioned other software --- GPLSA, GPLShift, FovED, GLP Glance, and maybe others --- that they were experimenting with to adjust the driver's view. I haven't tried any fixes yet for fear of wrecking what I've achieved so far. I'm wondering what the current state of knowledge is with regard to making the driver in a three-screen mode more aware of his surroundings. Any help would be appreciated sincerely, and my request is especially joined by Tames and Francois who are likely to be the first to overtake me on Saturday.  :)

[Note: I am using the Letterbox patch v3, Pribluda, and a resolution of 5760x1080.]

Edited by Pepe Higdon, 11 March 2019 - 09:53 PM.


#49 Robert Fleurke

Robert Fleurke

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 2,210 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Groningen
  • Interests:Life

Posted 12 March 2019 - 07:07 AM

The easiest way is to use GPLShift for adjusting driver view (front/rear, up/down). You need to set a FOV maybe slightly lower, and adjust your driving position for each car. Personally I have used GPLSA for 67s (something I regret), but for mods I do use GPLShift.

http://www.gplshift....shift/index.htm

In GPLShift.ini you need to enable driver view:

Quote

[ DRIVER VIEW ]----------------------------------------------------------------
Up&Down = 1 ;OPTIONS: 0    1 ;EFFECT:

;0 =   OFF   
;1 =   Move the Driver View up or down by using
;   left SHIFT key with ARROW keys:
;   Up =  Up
;   Down  =  Down
;   Right =  Not uset   
;   Left  =  Back to default position   

Forward&Back = 1 ;0 =   OFF   
;1 =   Move Driver View forward or back by using  
;   left CTRL key with ARROW keys:   
;   Up =  Forward   
;   Down  =  Back
;   Right =  Not uset   
;   Left  =  Back to default position   
;Notice: These 2 functions has no effect in LOOK  
; AROUND TrackIR Vector Expansion mode.
;--------------------------------------------------

Everytime you load the game/mod, you need to set the driver view in the pits, with left SHIFT/CTRL and Up/Down combo. It's a simple procedure. Best is to have the mirrors below at the inner sides of the sidemonitors.

I use 4320x900 resolution, so not as wide as yours, but I use 106degrees FOV with adjusted driver view for each car.

Edited by Robert Fleurke, 12 March 2019 - 02:04 PM.


#50 Pepe Higdon

Pepe Higdon

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 702 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Daytona Beach, Florida

Posted 12 March 2019 - 08:58 AM

Thanks, Rob. I'll try it right now. May I ask why you "regret" using GPLSA?

[An hour later: GPLShift works beautifully for all cars, without changing the default configuration and leaving the GEM FoV at 120. The F10 key does what it should perfectly. I'm stunned. Thank you so much, again.]

Edited by Pepe Higdon, 12 March 2019 - 10:07 AM.


#51 Robert Fleurke

Robert Fleurke

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 2,210 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Groningen
  • Interests:Life

Posted 12 March 2019 - 02:03 PM

GPLSA often will cause an offset between helmet and face graphically. Also it's more work finding a fixed setting though trial and error. Once you've used GPLSA, GPLShift driver view won't work with 67s. For mods it still works for me.

Edited by Robert Fleurke, 12 March 2019 - 02:03 PM.


#52 Ed_Cullen

Ed_Cullen

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 204 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perth Western Australia

Posted 13 March 2019 - 07:18 AM

Hey Rob had the same problem :yuk:I fixed it by deleting shift and the 67 car set.
install a new 67 car set and roll back to the last shift program and Its back working :wiggle:

#53 Robert Fleurke

Robert Fleurke

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 2,210 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Groningen
  • Interests:Life

Posted 13 March 2019 - 07:50 AM

Cheers, Ed. Bob Simpson mentioned it too before.

Hated to see you go out like that at your hometrack mate ;)




Sim Racing Links