Graphics Problems


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Ronnie Nilsson

Ronnie Nilsson

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 733 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bournemouth, UK
  • Interests:Guitars, motor racing, 20th century European history, LARPing.

Posted 17 January 2019 - 12:46 PM

Specs: Intel i7 4790 @ 3.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, Windows 7.  Also 1Gb Radeon gfx card. Using Open GL V2. 1360 x 768 (recommended) resolution.  GPL exes are 4Gb patched.

In the "old days" (13+ years ago), I had a far slower PC but I don't recall having graphics issues like this. I have gone through various help threads, but still stumped as to the poor performance.

Up until yesterday I did not realise that I was using onboard graphics.  My problems were a rippling through backgrounds, particularly at hairpins. (Vsync is OFF, by the way.)  Also, when exiting from driving to the track overview screen, the auto replay of my final seconds would often cause a CTD.  This was particularly when driving 69X.

When I use the gfx card, I just get bad stuttering (in 67 and 69X) - in fact, given the choice, I would use the onboard graphics.

For the setup that I have, I feel that I should surely be getting better.  Any help would be much appreciated.

#2 zzbusch1

zzbusch1

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 213 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Palm Coast, FL

Posted 17 January 2019 - 04:32 PM

May I suggest;

a GeForce 1050 ti

Or

a Radeon rx570.

Both are around $160

I'm sure you'll have a better gaming experience at a better resolution.  That 1GB card is going to be a bottleneck.
racecar is racecar spelled backward

#3 Rudolf Goertz

Rudolf Goertz

    Member

  • Members
  • 94 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hamburg
  • Interests:music, motorsports, super-8 film, old racing bikes

Posted 18 January 2019 - 04:26 AM

I'll second that. The Geforce is good value for money and I am happy with it. I think it works also better with openGL then Radeon cards. And you can use MSI afterburner which es free (maybe for screen capturing, overclocking)

#4 Ronnie Nilsson

Ronnie Nilsson

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 733 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bournemouth, UK
  • Interests:Guitars, motor racing, 20th century European history, LARPing.

Posted 18 January 2019 - 07:11 AM

Gentlemen, thank you very much.

#5 snafu

snafu

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 1,190 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hall End England
  • Interests:GPL
    F2B (Control Line aerobatic model aircraft).
    Motorcycles
    Crown Green bowling

Posted 18 January 2019 - 07:35 AM

Hi Ronnie,
I have very similar system to yours (Other than Intel i7 4790 @ 4.00 GHz).

My GPU is a Geoforce GTX760 and handles everything GPL can throw at it. (Including back of the grid at Spa67 60fps in the new sports car mod).

If you run only GPL then this might be another option.


TTFN
John
I started out with nothing and still have most of it left.

Fast, Cheap, Reliable. Choose any 2.

Beat it to fit, paint it to match..

1 in 4 people in the world are mentally unbalanced.
Look closely at 3 of your closest friends. If they seem OK it's probably you.

#6 Ronnie Nilsson

Ronnie Nilsson

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 733 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bournemouth, UK
  • Interests:Guitars, motor racing, 20th century European history, LARPing.

Posted 18 January 2019 - 11:58 AM

Cheers John.  I was receiving conflicting advice on FB, so I thought I'd post here for some expert advice. :)

#7 DDodge

DDodge

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 1,703 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:39N 94W
  • Interests:GPL, Dual Purpose motorbikes, Sailing, Tennis, Dakar, Pets, my Mini Cooper S

Posted 19 January 2019 - 05:42 PM

REALLY?  Conflicting advice on Facebook?  The mere idea!

Don
Confuscious say: "War not determine who right, war determine who left."

#8 JMF

JMF

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 627 posts

Posted 20 January 2019 - 05:16 AM

Radeons often stay in 2D mode while GPL is running. There's a program called Clockblocker which will force it into 3D mode but you'll likely have to use old gpu drivers like I do.
Greg Taber

#9 Ronnie Nilsson

Ronnie Nilsson

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 733 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bournemouth, UK
  • Interests:Guitars, motor racing, 20th century European history, LARPing.

Posted 23 January 2019 - 12:15 PM

What a long strange trip it's been...

Card installed, correct cable finally purchased (24 + 1 pin?!).  GPL working, except all the menu screens are fuzzy - not just the fonts, everything.  Any ideas folks?

#10 Bo Bruce

Bo Bruce

    Senior Member

  • oAo_admin
  • 4,879 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 23 January 2019 - 12:42 PM

i remember getting fuzzy menu's... it was 'fixed' in the video card settings.
its been so long ago, i don't remember the exact fix.
but see these settings (below) if one or other is way off from yours:

Attached Files


hApPy TrAiLs

oAo League Admin:
http://oao-gpl.speedgeezers.net/start.html

#11 Ronnie Nilsson

Ronnie Nilsson

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 733 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bournemouth, UK
  • Interests:Guitars, motor racing, 20th century European history, LARPing.

Posted 23 January 2019 - 12:51 PM

Bo, you ROCK!!  Fixed!  Thanks a lot. :)

#12 snafu

snafu

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 1,190 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hall End England
  • Interests:GPL
    F2B (Control Line aerobatic model aircraft).
    Motorcycles
    Crown Green bowling

Posted 23 January 2019 - 01:44 PM

It's the Antiailasing - FXAA which it the issue Ronnie. ZZ had the same issue last year. (On = Fuzzy).

TTFN
John.
I started out with nothing and still have most of it left.

Fast, Cheap, Reliable. Choose any 2.

Beat it to fit, paint it to match..

1 in 4 people in the world are mentally unbalanced.
Look closely at 3 of your closest friends. If they seem OK it's probably you.




Sim Racing Links