• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Jeff Jones

Jeff Jones

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 30 April 2009 - 10:17 AM

Hello SpeedGeezers,

I am new to Sim Racing and I found SpeedGeezers quite by accident.

I started out in online gaming 10 years ago, and for the last 5 years I've been doing WW2 games like Medal of Honor, Call of Duty, and Company of Heroes.  I have done those to death, and although I still play CoD and CoH with friends, I am bored with them.

I now wish to get into Sim Racing, but I have found that Sim Racing is a whole different world of gaming... much different from I am used to, which is exactly what makes it attractive.  But I am also quite "out of place" in terms of in-race etiquette, where/how to find servers, and tolerance for my lack of driving experience.  Since I lack experience, I tend to do a lot of crashing because I find it very difficult to hold a racing line.  I suspect it's mostly because I don't have my wheel set up properly.  It's one thing to enjoy a game because I'm actually driving in the race, but it's quite frustrating if I'm spending all of my time fighting improper setups.  It's a matter of "too many moving parts!"

I have, just in the last month, purchased a Logitech MOMO Wheel, and a good "starter set" of 4 games: GTR2, GT-Legends, rFactor, and Grid.  I intend to purchase the new G27 wheel once Logitech releases it, but for now I am using the MOMO as a hold-over.

Yes, I am the newest of newbies, and I am just getting started.  Regardless, I am looking for a group of mature, like-minded people that I might hang with, pick up pointers, guidance, how-to info, and be able to race with.    Accordingly, I am full of questions, like:

Which Sims are the most popular, and which should I not waste my time with?

Which Sims will let me run my own online server for others?  This is something I've always liked doing.