• 2,190 posts

Posted 01 September 2018 - 10:17 AM

Got disconnected while making my pit stop :(

#2 Michiel Pompert

Michiel Pompert

• oAo
  • 332 posts

Posted 01 September 2018 - 11:48 AM

Before writing a race report, I wanted to apologise to Michi, for our getting together in Curva Grande halfway through the race. It had been great battling with you up till that point and the incident was unfortunate to say the least. I had chosen to give up the corner and lifted early but then saw you scrub more speed on the outside and I was on the inside of you, and warp took care of the rest. Probably you coudn't see what I was doing in your mirrors. Sorry about that and i can understand it if you wish the stewards to have a look at it. Our battle deserved to go to the finish :(
Graham Hill: "I'm an artist, the track is my canvas, the car is my brush."

#3 Robert Fleurke

Robert Fleurke

• Members
  • 2,057 posts
  • Interests:Life

Posted 01 September 2018 - 02:07 PM

Sorry to hear Burt :( Also did miss Iestyn this race!?

Was a bit tensed before the race I do admit, and didn't come close to my PB I ran this week (dutch record 26.54). Still it was Pole, but the practise start worried me. Actually I can see the flagman with my FOV/resolution, but the car is close to the grass. No margin for a wobble having wheelspin. I suffer mostly when flagman are up high standing on a tower or so, since I have less vertical FOV (but way more horizontal FOV), like at some ovals and I believe also Leipzig. Then I can't see the flagman (having Pole).

Anyhow, everyone did a great job at the start. Thanks to Michael who conceded towards Curva Grande. Tried to build up the pace a bit, but already on Lap 4 or so I had a lapse, was somewhere else with my thoughts. Missed my braking point for Parabolica by quite a way. Immediately knew I was going to go off, but tried to do damage limitation. Went through the gravel trap and brushed/hit the hedge. Was lucky to rejoin behind Roy in P4.