Tandil


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 BurtAugust

BurtAugust

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 2,175 posts

Posted 18 March 2018 - 07:00 PM

I can't seem to find my pit guy.  A problem if I wan to refuel.

Edited by BurtAugust, 18 March 2018 - 07:09 PM.


#2 Bo Bruce

Bo Bruce

    Senior Member

  • oAo_admin
  • 4,668 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 18 March 2018 - 07:25 PM

are there pit guys?  hmmm... well that will be an issue if not.
hApPy TrAiLs

oAo League Admin:
http://oao-gpl.speedgeezers.net/start.html

#3 Claudio Pablo Navonne

Claudio Pablo Navonne

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 1,028 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Buenos Aires, Argentina

Posted 19 March 2018 - 03:28 AM

Tandil does not have pits in the way that the rest of the tracks have, with entry and exit roads. The pits are a large area of grass to the left of the road before the place of start and finish, as was Tandil. But if they put GPL in single race mode they can see that each car has its assigned place.
Member of AtlasF1 GPL/NR2003/Mods/etc.

#4 Claudio Pablo Navonne

Claudio Pablo Navonne

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 1,028 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Buenos Aires, Argentina

Posted 19 March 2018 - 03:31 AM

Some races there:
https://www.youtube....h?v=cvfRsIbblTo
https://www.youtube....h?v=g-yvPOpMpgw
https://www.youtube....h?v=sJx_BVLgI2g
https://www.youtube....h?v=D_l1hRtGyic
Enjoy!!
Member of AtlasF1 GPL/NR2003/Mods/etc.

#5 BurtAugust

BurtAugust

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 2,175 posts

Posted 19 March 2018 - 06:02 AM

Claudio I understand where they are located.  However I don't see a guy with the pit board where I can get the car refueled.

#6 Robert Fleurke

Robert Fleurke

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 2,014 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Groningen
  • Interests:Life

Posted 19 March 2018 - 06:25 AM

It's very hard to recognize for sure, but the pitboard is there somewhere in the grass! :P

Glad we don't have to do an inlap here in quali ;)

Edited by Robert Fleurke, 19 March 2018 - 06:28 AM.


#7 BurtAugust

BurtAugust

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 2,175 posts

Posted 19 March 2018 - 08:12 AM

Yep.  He is there in race mode but not in Testing.

#8 Robert Fleurke

Robert Fleurke

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 2,014 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Groningen
  • Interests:Life

Posted 19 March 2018 - 10:42 AM

The only way to test for you is to start an AI race or practise online Burt. However I'm pretty sure refuelling will cost you time here, but I'm sure you have your own valid reasons.

#9 Michkov

Michkov

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 1,613 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Graz

Posted 19 March 2018 - 04:53 PM

They should be way to the left of you in the field. Pretty much where you start when leaving the pits. Pitting is slow and tricky because of the full grass pits. I would like highly caution against pitting from full speed.
I just wanna race

#10 BurtAugust

BurtAugust

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 2,175 posts

Posted 19 March 2018 - 06:57 PM

I will signal,as always, before slowing if I have to pit for damage.

I can see the pit guy in a race not in testing mode, different than other tracks that way.

#11 Bo Bruce

Bo Bruce

    Senior Member

  • oAo_admin
  • 4,668 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 19 March 2018 - 08:04 PM

Burt... as i understand the pitstop patch does NOT repair damage as a Sh-R does. it only refuels you -
hApPy TrAiLs

oAo League Admin:
http://oao-gpl.speedgeezers.net/start.html

#12 Michkov

Michkov

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 1,613 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Graz

Posted 19 March 2018 - 10:12 PM

I'm not so worried during the race, with the final chicane this large taken care of. But since we aren't recovering to the pits after the end of our qualy laps. My worry is that if you pull off after crossing the line you'd loose control on the grass and come back across the bow of another car. Coming just off my first run, I suggest pulling off at the first right, just go straight park the car and exit. Seems way safer.
I just wanna race

#13 Michkov

Michkov

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 1,613 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Graz

Posted 23 March 2018 - 08:58 PM

Something that just occurred to me in regard to the chicanes around this place. There is no way through them should you blow past the entry. Making it necessary to reverse back to the entry to get around the invisible walls. Am I right in assuming this falls under "Driver goes off the racetrack and forfeits their right of way"?

It seems obvious to me that this would be the case. I just wanted to bring it up because we could have someone reversing into the field on lap on a surprisingly narrow stretch of road. IMO best course of action would be to wait until there is a gap and then return to the track in a controlled fashion especially since one cant see obstacles one is hitting.

Sorry to bring this up so late but better late then not at all.
I just wanna race

#14 bobho-in

bobho-in

    Old Fart

  • Members
  • 1,008 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fort Wayne IN.
  • Interests:Music, Cars, Yoga

Posted 23 March 2018 - 09:21 PM

Excellent point Michi.  I agree if a driver misses the entrance to any of chicanes (reminds me more of rest areas off the interstate here in the states) they are off track and need to check for on coming traffic before finding their way back on track.
Many people dream of success. To me success can only be achieved through repeated failure and introspection.
Soichiro Honda

#15 Robert Fleurke

Robert Fleurke

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 2,014 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Groningen
  • Interests:Life

Posted 24 March 2018 - 06:57 AM

Remember the time changed in the US a few weeks ago (daylights saving time), it will only be adjusted coming night for us Europeans. So the race is 1 hour earlier than normal for Europeans (like the D2 race last week)! ;)

Edited by Robert Fleurke, 24 March 2018 - 06:58 AM.





Sim Racing Links