Adc Members System Specs


  • Please log in to reply
112 replies to this topic

#21 Steve Walsh

Steve Walsh

    GTR2 European Director

  • ADC Admins
  • 1,557 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Herts, UK

Posted 01 July 2008 - 03:07 AM

View PostR Kennard, on Jul 1 2008, 08:08 AM, said:

Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0 GHZ CPU(will be overclocked soon...)

EVGA 790i Ultra SLI DDR3 ATX MB
I'll be interested in if you have any problems with the 790i Mobo, I almost upgraded to that mobo and new cpu so I could migrate my current cpu & mobo into my 2nd machine but after reading about lost of problems with early 790i BIOS's I changend my mind....


SteveW
Posted Image

Posted Image

Team OFRacing
ADC Race Results

STES Season 2 runner up.
STES Season 3 runner up.

#22 Petteri Pajunen

Petteri Pajunen

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 137 posts
  • Location:Helsinki, Finland

Posted 27 August 2008 - 02:36 PM

A while ago I did a penny-pinching upgrade so I could run iPaying...err...iRacing. New specs:

Asus P5Q Pro
Intel E7200 oc'd to 3.24 GHz
2 gigs of el cheapo 667 MHz ram
250 GB Samsung HDD (salvaged from old pc)
Same-old 300W PSU (old)
EVGA 8800GS graphics card, oc'd quite a bit
20 inch Samsung 205BW LCD monitor (old)
Vista 64 Home Premium

I was told I'm crazy to run this with a 300 W PSU. But it seems to work perfectly anyway  :D Hardware works like a charm, the mobo is the best I've ever had. After getting used to it, Vista (or Windows in general) isn't such a pain to use after all. GPL runs well, except for the horrible 60 Hz vertical refresh bug/feature of Vista. It seems that it is impossible to get an opengl/d3d game to run with anything else than 60 Hz vertical refresh, unless the game itself sets the refresh rate. GPL display smoothness suffers a great deal when run with anything less than 72 Hz. I've checked and rechecked this when I ran GPL under linux, so I'm not imagining it. Try it if you can, and see for yourself. I wonder if Nigel could do something about this in the rasterisers, like request a refresh rate explicitly.

iRacing runs quite well with this system, I have vsync on so I am getting a steady 60 fps with highest graphics settings except no shadows at 1680x1050 resolution.

As for my move from linux to windows, a pleasant surprise for me was that the software development tools I used under linux are mostly available for Windows as well. I managed to compile my linux version of Pribluda under windows, and now I can keep using it after all.

Edited by Petteri Pajunen, 27 August 2008 - 11:49 PM.

Petteri Pajunen
"Fast drivers drive too slow, slow drivers drive too fast"
"Always say what you think. If you can't, then change your thinking."
Current GPL Rank

#23 kennoe

kennoe

    Member

  • ADC
  • 93 posts

Posted 27 August 2008 - 05:25 PM

My system is a mix of quality and generic, designed primarily to a budget, but with limited gaming (ie GPL) in mind. This computer is used by my partner and I as well as my youngest son for all their activities. Main specs are:

Gigabyte GA-P35-S3L
Intel E6750 2.66mhz
Corsair XMS2-6400 2x1024MB
Samsung 500G HD
8800GTS 320Mb
Samsung 20 inch TFT
X-Fi XtremeGamer
Windows XP Pro
Logitech Momo Racing wheel and pedals

This system handles GPL with ease and I have never had a hardware related problem.  I run with all graphic options on, 100% detail and this gives me 36fps without fail on all tracks. I run the second generation rasterisers, although they appear to have made very little difference to the graphics (at 1680 x 1050 resolution).

I rarely run other racing sims and these are only demos and not the full versions anyway. I have had no problem with any of these. I also enjoy flight sims and my system manages these without difficulty, including MS Flight Simulator X.

Cheers

Steve

#24 R Kennard

R Kennard

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 488 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Idaho, USA

Posted 31 August 2008 - 02:43 PM

View PostR Kennard, on Jul 1 2008, 01:08 AM, said:

...
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0 GHZ CPU

EVGA 790i Ultra SLI DDR3 ATX MB

Coolmax CUQ-1200 watt PSU

EVGA 9800 GTX KO 512MB 675MHZ GPU (will be overclocked soon...)

two - 750GB Samsung Spinpoint F1 HDD

one - 20X Lite-On DVD/RW

one - 22X Samsung DVD/RW

Tuniq Tower 120 CPU cooler

4GB (2 X 2GB) OCZ Reaper DDR3 1333 RAM (not sure it's gonna work with my MB yet, fingers crossed)

Vista 64 bit (may try dual boot system with XP as well)

CoolerMaster Cosmos S case

Dell UltraSharp 24"

Logitech Z-5500

Race gear:

Momo

G15 Keyboard


View PostSteve Walsh, on Jul 1 2008, 03:07 AM, said:

I'll be interested in if you have any problems with the 790i Mobo, I almost upgraded to that mobo and new cpu so I could migrate my current cpu & mobo into my 2nd machine but after reading about lost of problems with early 790i BIOS's I changend my mind....
SteveW

Update:

I had decided it was time for a new computer and started out shopping for a Dell system. However, being that I had added and optical drive and changed a hard drive on my other system I felt I was ready to build one (tongue in cheek).

I didn't do enough research about what I was getting into and just started ordering parts...somewhat randomly.  I started of with ordering the Mobo and the memory first and that was my main mistake.

I thought as long as I'm building a new machine I should get the latest and the greatest now so I stumbled across the 790i and DDR3 memory.

The mistake I made was not checking the list from EVGA as to which memory had out of the box proven stability with their Mobo.  So that's where my main problems where encountered.  Turns out it is quite easy to fix if you can update bios, adjust various settings and adjust settings of the bios for RAM and other things.

Well, I didn't know any of these things but after using several different sources on the internet, mostly EVGA's forums along with overclock.net and a little bit of tomshardware I was able to figure out what I needed to do.  I ordered and installed a $10 floppy drive cause the cd and usb flash was too complicated.  I even found a stash of "new" floppy discs in my garage I could use for the flash and for Memtest 86+.

"Super best big" thanks goes to "Delirious" at EVGA.com/forums http://www.evga.com/...tm.asp?m=499530.  Everything I needed was put in one place.  I followed his guide updating BIOS, making recommended adjustments, and stress testing.  

All is good including 15+ hours MS Flight Sim X with no problems, with several OCCT stress tests and Memtest 86+, all good to go.  Thanks Delirious!

Time to install the racing sims and turn em up to full blast!
____________________________________________________________

So, yes I had problems, for a newbie, but I have learned a lot, much more than I wanted when I set out but now I'm using EVGA's excellent product and will be overclocking my cpu and gpu soon, and now it is all good (touch wood!).

Cheers,

Duane

Edited by R Kennard, 31 August 2008 - 03:03 PM.

i7 920| EVGA X58 Classified | EVGA GTX 260 triple SLI | 6GB Corsair DDR3 RAM | ATCS 840 | Win 7 64-bit | Logitech G-15, G-25Posted Image

#25 R Kennard

R Kennard

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 488 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Idaho, USA

Posted 21 October 2008 - 09:50 AM

I just did the "Step-up" program from EVGA and traded in my 9800 GTX for a GTX 260.  I overclocked my CPU to by about 20%, there's more in it, and used Precision to overclock the video card a little.

It's running great.  When the prices drop I may add a 2nd GTX 260 for some SLI action. My Vantage score is nothing special but here it is anyway...


Posted Image
i7 920| EVGA X58 Classified | EVGA GTX 260 triple SLI | 6GB Corsair DDR3 RAM | ATCS 840 | Win 7 64-bit | Logitech G-15, G-25Posted Image

#26 Rob Bakker

Rob Bakker

    GTL European Director

  • ADC Admins
  • 6,422 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 26 October 2008 - 06:05 AM

Looks like I have some tweaking to do.

My system with every thing at stock speeds, doesn't even come close.

E8400@3ghz and 2 8800GTS 640mb @ stock speed.

Attached Files


Rob.

ADC GTL Race Reports - Statistics and GTL car specs.

http://www.worldcommunitygrid.org/

#27 Graham H

Graham H

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 1,671 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Oslo, Norway

Posted 26 October 2008 - 07:09 AM

View PostRob Bakker, on Oct 26 2008, 12:05 PM, said:

Looks like I have some tweaking to do.

My system with every thing at stock speeds, doesn't even come close.

E8400@3ghz and 2 8800GTS 640mb @ stock speed.

Ehh Rob - no tweaking please - keep it simple ;)
Graham    Posted Image

Posted Image

#28 Rob Bakker

Rob Bakker

    GTL European Director

  • ADC Admins
  • 6,422 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 26 October 2008 - 07:11 AM

View PostGraham H, on Oct 26 2008, 02:09 PM, said:

Ehh Rob - no tweaking please - keep it simple ;)
I know I shouldn't, and I won't. But looking at Duane's signature, it is very hard not to. ;)
Rob.

ADC GTL Race Reports - Statistics and GTL car specs.

http://www.worldcommunitygrid.org/

#29 Graham H

Graham H

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 1,671 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Oslo, Norway

Posted 26 October 2008 - 07:58 AM

Actually I think your and Steves problems are probably to do with the 8800's - they are notoriously unstable cards. Not all of course - but there are a large number of game crash reports with those cards.

9800 seem to be more stable. Not heard anything about 280's.

Edited by Graham H, 26 October 2008 - 08:05 AM.

Graham    Posted Image

Posted Image

#30 R Kennard

R Kennard

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 488 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Idaho, USA

Posted 26 October 2008 - 01:41 PM

Just ran another one and got P12061

These settings seem quite stable to me so I'll run them for a while.  I haven't done much tweaking on the card yet so I know I should be able to get more out of it.

Also haven't messed with the RAM since I got the system stable on stock settings so they may be a bit in there as well.

I am pleased with the 35% overclock.

Attached Files


Edited by R Kennard, 26 October 2008 - 01:43 PM.

i7 920| EVGA X58 Classified | EVGA GTX 260 triple SLI | 6GB Corsair DDR3 RAM | ATCS 840 | Win 7 64-bit | Logitech G-15, G-25Posted Image

#31 Graham H

Graham H

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 1,671 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Oslo, Norway

Posted 26 October 2008 - 03:01 PM

I paid NOK 5000 for an 8800 GTX which I was lucky enough to get refunded this year as the 9800GTX is more stable and runs cooler with the same performance at NOK 1500.

While I would like a 260 or 280 I am not going to pay NOK 4500 for a 280 now. There is plenty of competition between Nvidia and ATI at the moment and next year the 280 will probably cost around NOK 1500. The 9800 is good enough for me with GTR2, Race07/GTR-Evo and all the other games I play. So it is better to wait I think.

Edited by Graham H, 26 October 2008 - 03:02 PM.

Graham    Posted Image

Posted Image

#32 R Kennard

R Kennard

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 488 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Idaho, USA

Posted 26 October 2008 - 08:00 PM

I agree that the 9800 GTX is an excellent card.  I had one for my new rig and it was more than enough to run my racing sim but I wanted to take advantage of the EVGA step up program.  It's a one time offer, per each purchase, and is available for up to 90 days from original purchase date of graphics card or main board.

EVGA has been great so far!
i7 920| EVGA X58 Classified | EVGA GTX 260 triple SLI | 6GB Corsair DDR3 RAM | ATCS 840 | Win 7 64-bit | Logitech G-15, G-25Posted Image

#33 Maarten

Maarten

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 798 posts
  • Location:Holland
  • Interests:Karting, Music and everything with cars and racing.

Posted 26 October 2008 - 10:51 PM

Hey guys,

Just wanted to post here that i've bought a new pc! Here are the specs:

motherboard: Biostar MCP6P-M2
Processor: AMD 64 Athlon X2 5600+ Dual Core
Memory: 4GB DDR2 Dual Channel (whitelake 800mhz)
50GB S-ATAII 7200RPM
power supply: AXP 630P12P 630Watt
Videocard: Nvidia 9800GT
windows xp 32 bit for now, getting vista 64 later.

All of this for 500 euro's. Not bad right?

See ya,

Maarten
---Oversteer scares passengers; understeer scares drivers---

#34 Graham H

Graham H

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 1,671 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Oslo, Norway

Posted 27 October 2008 - 02:39 AM

View PostR Kennard, on Oct 27 2008, 02:00 AM, said:

I agree that the 9800 GTX is an excellent card.  I had one for my new rig and it was more than enough to run my racing sim but I wanted to take advantage of the EVGA step up program.  It's a one time offer, per each purchase, and is available for up to 90 days from original purchase date of graphics card or main board.

EVGA has been great so far!

Sound like an offer you cant refuse Duane :D

Enjoy it.  :beerchug:
Graham    Posted Image

Posted Image

#35 Andi Cole

Andi Cole

    GTR2/GTL Advisor

  • ADC Admins
  • 5,527 posts
  • Location:South East England

Posted 27 October 2008 - 02:51 AM

View PostMaarten, on Oct 27 2008, 04:51 AM, said:

Hey guys,

Just wanted to post here that i've bought a new pc! Here are the specs:

motherboard: Biostar MCP6P-M2
Processor: AMD 64 Athlon X2 5600+ Dual Core
Memory: 4GB DDR2 Dual Channel (whitelake 800mhz)
50GB S-ATAII 7200RPM
power supply: AXP 630P12P 630Watt
Videocard: Nvidia 9800GT
windows xp 32 bit for now, getting vista 64 later.

All of this for 500 euro's. Not bad right?

See ya,

Maarten

Not sure I'd bother with 64 bit Vista. I have used it on a PC for CAD work and had all sorts of trouble with drivers and even some program compatability. Mostly utilities had problems. Then we built a similar PC and used 32 bit Vista, no problems and no noticeable difference in performance.

64 and 32 bit used to be available in one package so you could change over easily (but it needs a reformat and install).

Andi.
http://picasaweb.google.com/andicole0 - http://andiscobra.blogspot.com/ - http://www.tomsrush.blogspot.com/
Intel Core i7 2600K, Asrock Z68 Extreme 7 Gen 3, 8GB Corsair Vengence, 250GB Intel 510 SSD, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB, 2 x GTX480 SLI, 8800GTX. 2 x DVDRW. Win 7 SP1.Logitech Z5450, Zalman water cooling. Zalman Level 10 GT Case.G25 Wheel with ECCI pedals.

#36 Andi Cole

Andi Cole

    GTR2/GTL Advisor

  • ADC Admins
  • 5,527 posts
  • Location:South East England

Posted 27 October 2008 - 04:07 AM

I just used the trial version.

Andi.

Attached Files


http://picasaweb.google.com/andicole0 - http://andiscobra.blogspot.com/ - http://www.tomsrush.blogspot.com/
Intel Core i7 2600K, Asrock Z68 Extreme 7 Gen 3, 8GB Corsair Vengence, 250GB Intel 510 SSD, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB, 2 x GTX480 SLI, 8800GTX. 2 x DVDRW. Win 7 SP1.Logitech Z5450, Zalman water cooling. Zalman Level 10 GT Case.G25 Wheel with ECCI pedals.

#37 Rob Bakker

Rob Bakker

    GTL European Director

  • ADC Admins
  • 6,422 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 27 October 2008 - 05:42 AM

I know that benchmark scores don't tell the whole story, but the differences are way to big.

GPU score:
Duane...9736
Andi....12610
Rob.......7889

CPU score:
Duane...34116
Andi......25027
Rob........6053

Andi's 2 8800 GTX cards beat Duane's single GTX260. So I would think my 2 8800 GTS cards would be closer, maybe even above Duane's/

And with my CPU @ 3.6Ghz I only get a 6600 CPU score. That is some 18000 points to low. :blink:
Rob.

ADC GTL Race Reports - Statistics and GTL car specs.

http://www.worldcommunitygrid.org/

#38 Andi Cole

Andi Cole

    GTR2/GTL Advisor

  • ADC Admins
  • 5,527 posts
  • Location:South East England

Posted 27 October 2008 - 07:38 AM

View PostRob Bakker, on Oct 27 2008, 11:42 AM, said:

I know that benchmark scores don't tell the whole story, but the differences are way to big.

GPU score:
Duane...9736
Andi....12610
Rob.......7889

CPU score:
Duane...34116
Andi......25027
Rob........6053

Andi's 2 8800 GTX cards beat Duane's single GTX260. So I would think my 2 8800 GTS cards would be closer, maybe even above Duane's/

And with my CPU @ 3.6Ghz I only get a 6600 CPU score. That is some 18000 points to low. :blink:

Rob, have you updated your Nvidia video drivers recently, they default to non SLI and quality settings.

Andi.
http://picasaweb.google.com/andicole0 - http://andiscobra.blogspot.com/ - http://www.tomsrush.blogspot.com/
Intel Core i7 2600K, Asrock Z68 Extreme 7 Gen 3, 8GB Corsair Vengence, 250GB Intel 510 SSD, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB, 2 x GTX480 SLI, 8800GTX. 2 x DVDRW. Win 7 SP1.Logitech Z5450, Zalman water cooling. Zalman Level 10 GT Case.G25 Wheel with ECCI pedals.

#39 R Kennard

R Kennard

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 488 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Idaho, USA

Posted 27 October 2008 - 10:00 AM

View PostRob Bakker, on Oct 26 2008, 06:05 AM, said:

Looks like I have some tweaking to do.

My system with every thing at stock speeds, doesn't even come close.

E8400@3ghz and 2 8800GTS 640mb @ stock speed.


Rob,

How long has it been since your system had fresh OS install on clean formatted hard drive?

When was your last BIOS update / which version are you running on what board?

I have read that better scores are obtained on fresh systems, something about memory bandwidth.  

Your CPU score is worth investigating, seems as though it should be much higher.    At 3.6 I had 34,11600 for CPU score.

Perhaps your RAM is holding your CPU back.  

Have you tested the RAM individually with Memtest? [www.memtest.org]

Finally, I am not sure that a direct comparison can be made between XP and Vista 3DMark scores.  

Duane
i7 920| EVGA X58 Classified | EVGA GTX 260 triple SLI | 6GB Corsair DDR3 RAM | ATCS 840 | Win 7 64-bit | Logitech G-15, G-25Posted Image

#40 Rob Bakker

Rob Bakker

    GTL European Director

  • ADC Admins
  • 6,422 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 27 October 2008 - 10:14 AM

This HD is one week old and has a dual boot with XP 32bit and Vista 64bit.
Vista was only installed 2 days ago. Should be fresh enough. :)

The RAM has been tested and like the other sticks I had in this system before, are OK with memtest.

This are 3DMark Vantage scores, so we are all using Vista, right? Vantage only works on Vista AFAIK.

I'm still running GTL, GTR2 and rFactor on WinXP. Vista was just to try a few things.

View PostAndi Cole, on Oct 27 2008, 02:38 PM, said:

Rob, have you updated your Nvidia video drivers recently, they default to non SLI and quality settings.
It is a new install. SLI is working. I will check the quality settings.
Rob.

ADC GTL Race Reports - Statistics and GTL car specs.

http://www.worldcommunitygrid.org/




Sim Racing Links