Communication Setup Parameters


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 GeNiE

GeNiE

    Prodigal Son

  • ADC
  • 1,336 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Silver Spring, MD
  • Interests:Racing, Diving, Cycling. In no particular order

Posted 23 July 2004 - 10:33 AM

Thanks David,

This will come in handy I guess.
Ihsan "GeNiE" Gin

JSJ GPLShift utility : $0..
Contact Cleaner from RadioShack : $7.99..
Second hand GPLShifter : $30..
Braking down to Tabac with skipping 5th and 3rd gear in a P115 : PRICELESS

#2 David Fletcher

David Fletcher

    ADC Founder

  • ADC Admins
  • 6,222 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Akron Ohio USA
  • Interests:SimRacing

Posted 23 July 2004 - 09:25 AM

And here's the latest version of the Bandwidth Patch (V3.1).

Fletch

Attached Files


"In racing as in life, you're either in someone's way, or they're in yours..."

#3 David Fletcher

David Fletcher

    ADC Founder

  • ADC Admins
  • 6,222 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Akron Ohio USA
  • Interests:SimRacing

Posted 23 July 2004 - 09:22 AM

Edited by Fletch 11/11/05

In an effort to help new members hook up, I decided to try to put together a "definitive" guide to communication settings. I've been researching this from several angles, and I "think" I'm giving good information here. If there are any errors or variations, please let me know.

Do these steps in order; i.e., do the Bandwidth Patch, then change the core.ini:

BACKUP YOUR ORIGINAL CORE.INI BEFORE CONTINUING!

First of all, make sure GPL is version 1.2.0.2; apply the CPU Speedfix if not.

To apply the bandwidth patch, first of all, place the "bwpatch.exe" file in your GPL directory. Then click the file. When the dialog box opens, the cursor should be at the bottom of the screen. If this is the first time you've run the program, you should see the following:

Patch Status:

1. More cars patch : Not applied
2. Cars behind patch : Not applied
Enter patch number to apply/remove or x to exit

To apply the More cars patch, type 1 in the cursor field and press enter.

Do not apply the Cars behind patch if you only join races. That command is only for servers.

Now that you've applied the More cars patch, type x in the cursor field and hit enter to close. You may have to close the dialog box manually also.

To unapply the patch, simply reverse the above procedure.

CORE.INI FILE PARAMETERS

Quoting Paul Jackson of Speedgeezers.com: "The "send_every" settings in the mdm lines of the core.ini are the critical ones which cause all the whacko latency, warping and bandwidth mismatching. (apparently)..."

Change the lines in your core.ini to the following:
net_lan_client_send_every = 3 ; Client packet freq on LAN
net_lan_client_send_size = 84 ; Client packet size on LAN
net_lan_server_send_every = 3 ; Server packet freq on LAN
net_lan_server_send_size = 384 ; Server packet size on LAN
net_mdm_client_send_every = 3 ; Client packet freq on dialup
net_mdm_client_send_size = 84 ; Client packet size on dialup
net_mdm_server_send_every = 3 ; Server packet freq on dialup
net_mdm_server_send_size = 384 ; Server packet size on dialup

Also, make sure you have the following lines set as such:
net_use_mdm_bandwidth_for_tcp_ip = 1 ; Use modem bandwidthfor TCP/IP
alternate_ip_addr_lookup = 1 ; Find IP addresses another way.

With the above settings, you should have no trouble hooking up to the ADC server, or most other servers on VROC/Igor, whether or not the server has the bandwidth patch applied. The only exception would be servers that are forcing specific requirements; frequently, those hosters will provide hookup information.

I hope this will clear up some of our connection problems. If anyone has a suggestion or correction, post it here.

Fletch
"In racing as in life, you're either in someone's way, or they're in yours..."

#4 Paul Smith

Paul Smith

    GPL Australian Director (Ret)

  • ADC Admins
  • 551 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 30 July 2004 - 06:53 PM

Monte and I have changed to these settings and it seems our problems should be reduced. We have both been able to join races through iGOR. Thanks Dave.  Posted Image

#5 Gerry Sweetland

Gerry Sweetland

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 994 posts

Posted 31 July 2004 - 07:52 AM

Posted Image
Thanks David, I have done so many RE-installs of all this stuff latley and I have been wondering what the settings for this patch should be. I'm sure that I applied the hosting part of the patch... I'll have to go check but I think I can just click on the file again and it will give an option to remove #2 right? I'll verify and get back here if I have a problem.
Thanks again'
Gerry

#6 Firie

Firie

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 286 posts

Posted 01 August 2004 - 06:23 AM

Thx david...much appreciated Posted Image
-------------------------------------
"Firemen get it out quicker....!"
-------------------------------------

#7 laloha

laloha

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 506 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 21 November 2004 - 08:52 PM

Just joined and I also had placed a 2 after the "Patch status: 2. Cars behind patch :applied, version=2"

This must wrong since I will not be hosting. How can I remove this since it is in dos and I have WinXP. I do not seem able to change it.

Would it be best to somehow remove the bandwidth patch from the system and then reinstall?
although not sure how actually remove the BW patch however, it's not in "Add and Remove Program".

Any help appreciated.

Thanks,

Larry
Larry Hansen

#8 Gerry Sweetland

Gerry Sweetland

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 994 posts

Posted 21 November 2004 - 09:19 PM

Hi Larry,
someone might come along and correct me so be patent and wait a little while... but I don't think it matters if you have #2 applied if your only gonna be joining races. I'm not sure, I just turned off the computer that has GPL on it and it's late so I don't want to test right now but I think if you run the patch again... doesn't it give you the option to remove one or both patches by choosing a number or letter or something. Try runnining it again so the dos window comes up and carefully read what it all says there. I may be totaly wrong here so sorry if I've sent you off on a wild goose chase.
HTH
Gerry

#9 laloha

laloha

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 506 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 21 November 2004 - 10:12 PM

Hi Gerry,

No problem and thanks for getting back so soon.

New to online so this is quite a learning experience. I did bring the BWpatch back and if I type a 2 at the cursor the options for cars behind comes up. If I type a c and exit the patch reads the same. I have attemped to attach a picture of my settings.

By the way maybe you can help me with the password issue for entering races. Where do we find these passwords should I get up the nerve to actually try online racing.

Thanks again for your response,

Larry

Attached Files


Larry Hansen

#10 David Fletcher

David Fletcher

    ADC Founder

  • ADC Admins
  • 6,222 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Akron Ohio USA
  • Interests:SimRacing

Posted 22 November 2004 - 12:05 AM

Quoted by Laloha:

"By the way maybe you can help me with the password issue for entering races. Where do we find these passwords should I get up the nerve to actually try online racing."

Larry, let's start by making your application official. Send me an email at rockysmart1@yahoo.com

Fletch
"In racing as in life, you're either in someone's way, or they're in yours..."

#11 Iain

Iain

    Member

  • ADC
  • 69 posts

Posted 16 February 2005 - 12:30 PM

Hi, I hope I'm posting this in the right section, sorry if it should be somewhere else.

I decided it was time to get serious with the 65s and go online with igor, but so far I just can't get it to work.
I click join and get into gpl, then the green connection box comes up and a few seconds later I get 'timed out opening communications channel'. This happens every time with 65, but strangely enough I can join 67 races through igor no problem.
I've tried all the suggested changes to core settings and the bandwidth patch, but no go.
I've even had someone send me their tried and tested core file and still I get the 'timed out opening communications channel' message.
I'm beginning to worry about my hair, I can't afford to tear much more of it out.

If anyone can suggest anything I'd be very grateful.
(It's entirely possible I've missed something obvious Posted Image  )

Thanks in advance


Iain

#12 Gunsnake

Gunsnake

    Senior Member

  • GROWL GPL
  • 360 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 February 2005 - 12:53 PM

Sounds like your behind a router/firewall and your ports aren't set.
Ihad this same problem till I set mine. Do a search either here or
over at RSC for "IGOR PORT" and peruse at your liesure.
Posted Image



"There are four boxes to be used in defense of liberty: soap, ballot, jury, and ammo. Please use in that order."


Butch 'Gunsnake' Giles
Avionics/Autopilot Sys.
Comm. Pilot/Co. Test Pilot
So. Avionics & Comm. Inc.

GPL:    Butch Giles

#13 Iain

Iain

    Member

  • ADC
  • 69 posts

Posted 16 February 2005 - 12:56 PM

Thanks Gunsnake, I'll look into that.


Iain

#14 Iain

Iain

    Member

  • ADC
  • 69 posts

Posted 16 February 2005 - 07:25 PM

Think I've got it licked.
There are 2 tcp/ip numbers on my multiplayer screen, igor was selecting the first one, when I manually selected the second and went back to igor everything worked.
If only I'd done that sooner. Posted Image

#15 GeNiE

GeNiE

    Prodigal Son

  • ADC
  • 1,336 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Silver Spring, MD
  • Interests:Racing, Diving, Cycling. In no particular order

Posted 16 February 2005 - 08:13 PM

That's great Iain, the mistery is solved Posted Image
Ihsan "GeNiE" Gin

JSJ GPLShift utility : $0..
Contact Cleaner from RadioShack : $7.99..
Second hand GPLShifter : $30..
Braking down to Tabac with skipping 5th and 3rd gear in a P115 : PRICELESS

#16 Tim

Tim

    Member

  • ADC
  • 34 posts

Posted 16 March 2005 - 02:31 PM

Hi, Im new to the ADC and am trying to get the bandwidth patch to work. Right now the cars behind patch is not applied and I cant get it to work otherwise. Whenever I type "2" it does not ask me for any options etc. If someone can help me it would be appreciated.
Fire! Smoke she is a risin'
Fire! Smoke stack lightnin'

#17 Tim

Tim

    Member

  • ADC
  • 34 posts

Posted 16 March 2005 - 02:34 PM

lol, sorry Im an idiot, there it is in big letters.

LEAVE #2 NOT APPLIED.

Sorry for the confusion.
Fire! Smoke she is a risin'
Fire! Smoke stack lightnin'

#18 Tim

Tim

    Member

  • ADC
  • 34 posts

Posted 16 March 2005 - 02:42 PM

Gawd, I dunno what Im doing. I have no clue where these core.ini settings are. None of these names are listed in the core.ini on my computer
Fire! Smoke she is a risin'
Fire! Smoke stack lightnin'

#19 GeNiE

GeNiE

    Prodigal Son

  • ADC
  • 1,336 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Silver Spring, MD
  • Interests:Racing, Diving, Cycling. In no particular order

Posted 16 March 2005 - 02:47 PM

Tim,

Here, take a look at mine and cut and paste the portions you want.

Attached Files


Ihsan "GeNiE" Gin

JSJ GPLShift utility : $0..
Contact Cleaner from RadioShack : $7.99..
Second hand GPLShifter : $30..
Braking down to Tabac with skipping 5th and 3rd gear in a P115 : PRICELESS

#20 Tim

Tim

    Member

  • ADC
  • 34 posts

Posted 16 March 2005 - 04:24 PM

Howdy, sorry for more troubles guys and I know this post has little to do about the topic, but I wanna get set up quick because theres a race tonight in the Americas league, so I was wondering if someone could walk me through getting IGOR. I dont have the 65 mod and dont plan on driving them so I just need the server. Thanks
Fire! Smoke she is a risin'
Fire! Smoke stack lightnin'




Sim Racing Links