Is The Server Running Road Atlanta?


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 JMF

JMF

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 608 posts

Posted 09 October 2018 - 01:51 PM

I've tried connecting to the server from GPL's multiplayer on Sunday and Tuesday. It's always timed out even after multiple attempts consecutively.

I used the IP listed on oAo's website.
Greg Taber

#2 Bo Bruce

Bo Bruce

    Senior Member

  • oAo_admin
  • 4,718 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 09 October 2018 - 02:07 PM

no-
i sent an email regarding this.
w/out iGor i don't know how to 'loop' the practice to run 24hrs... instead i can only launch and set max time to practice at 2hrs.
then it goes into race mode, and then shows paper and stops.

unless i am sitting there (i'm not) there's no way to check who is online, when, how long. so unless i get a request to launch it, and those that request know they have a 2hr window, there's no point in launching til iGor is back up :(
hApPy TrAiLs

oAo League Admin:
http://oao-gpl.speedgeezers.net/start.html

#3 Robert Fleurke

Robert Fleurke

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 2,082 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Groningen
  • Interests:Life

Posted 10 October 2018 - 12:14 PM

Can't you use VROC, Bruce? Some leagues still use it for their online racing. Or maybe if it isn't too much trouble start the server at fixed time each night, like 2400CET/6 pm EST!?

#4 Bo Bruce

Bo Bruce

    Senior Member

  • oAo_admin
  • 4,718 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 October 2018 - 01:07 PM

SERVER NOW RUNNING via Vroc!  24hrs/day :)
thanks for the suggestion Rob!  (why didn't i think of this?)

ok, the problem is "I" can't join via Vroc - but i can thru GPL/multi. same as for iGor
but last time i tried i didn't know it was due to my router/modem :P


might have to join via GPL/multiplayer... test it yourselves.
hApPy TrAiLs

oAo League Admin:
http://oao-gpl.speedgeezers.net/start.html

#5 DDodge

DDodge

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 1,607 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:39N 94W
  • Interests:GPL, Dual Purpose motorbikes, Sailing, Tennis, Dakar, Pets, my Mini Cooper S

Posted 10 October 2018 - 02:28 PM

I was able to join OK through VROC, using core.ini settings, instead of 3/84.

Don
Confuscious say: "War not determine who right, war determine who left."

#6 Robert Fleurke

Robert Fleurke

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 2,082 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Groningen
  • Interests:Life

Posted 10 October 2018 - 03:23 PM

Thanks Bruce, works allright here. Saw a few others and connection seemed good. Good old VROC :)

#7 Pepe Higdon

Pepe Higdon

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 644 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Daytona Beach, Florida

Posted 10 October 2018 - 03:34 PM

View PostDDodge, on 10 October 2018 - 02:28 PM, said:

I was able to join OK through VROC, using core.ini settings, instead of 3/84.

Ditto.

#8 Aljones

Aljones

    Member

  • Members
  • 98 posts

Posted 10 October 2018 - 04:38 PM

Can't join, insuffisant bandwith ??
" Racing is Life, the rest is just .... waiting "

#9 DDodge

DDodge

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 1,607 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:39N 94W
  • Interests:GPL, Dual Purpose motorbikes, Sailing, Tennis, Dakar, Pets, my Mini Cooper S

Posted 10 October 2018 - 07:50 PM

It told me bandwidth mismatch, until I change to core.ini settings, instead of 3/84.

Don
Confuscious say: "War not determine who right, war determine who left."

#10 Andrew Hutchinson

Andrew Hutchinson

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 140 posts

Posted 10 October 2018 - 08:42 PM

I got the same as Don. Is it OK if I keep joining  in from GEM multiplayer? I don't know anything about anything with GPL so I'm loathe to stop doing something if it works mostly. It is usually better than the alternative of not working at all.

Andrew

#11 Claudio Pablo Navonne

Claudio Pablo Navonne

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 1,052 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Buenos Aires, Argentina

Posted 11 October 2018 - 03:25 AM

I haven´t got racelist at VROC!!

Edited by Claudio Pablo Navonne, 11 October 2018 - 03:29 AM.

Member of AtlasF1 GPL/NR2003/Mods/etc.

#12 Claudio Pablo Navonne

Claudio Pablo Navonne

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 1,052 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Buenos Aires, Argentina

Posted 11 October 2018 - 03:29 AM

I fixed it!
Member of AtlasF1 GPL/NR2003/Mods/etc.

#13 Donnie Yourth

Donnie Yourth

    Senior Member

  • ADC Admins
  • 5,115 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 October 2018 - 04:42 AM

It seems that I cannot join via VROC.  Something borked somewhere.  However, I can join via the IP addy and did so in a test last evening joining BobH & Pepe for a short romp.

#14 snafu

snafu

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 1,044 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hall End England
  • Interests:GPL
    F2B (Control Line aerobatic model aircraft).
    Motorcycles
    Crown Green bowling

Posted 11 October 2018 - 05:09 AM

I got on last night with Bo, Joined via VROC but it took about 6 attempts. :( Also got on via IP through GPL. (1st time)

TTFN
John.
I started out with nothing and still have most of it left.

Fast, Cheap, Reliable. Choose any 2.

Beat it to fit, paint it to match..

1 in 4 people in the world are mentally unbalanced.
Look closely at 3 of your closest friends. If they seem OK it's probably you.

#15 Bo Bruce

Bo Bruce

    Senior Member

  • oAo_admin
  • 4,718 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 October 2018 - 10:20 AM

joining via GPL/multi is fine. for some it might be the only way ~

Claudio - HOW did you 'fix' getting racelist?
hApPy TrAiLs

oAo League Admin:
http://oao-gpl.speedgeezers.net/start.html

#16 JMF

JMF

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 608 posts

Posted 11 October 2018 - 04:59 PM

Thanks for starting the server Bruce, and thank you Rob for reminding him about VROC.

I know the address in the vroc.ini had changed at times when I was last using it. I think this is the default address that gets installed. It's worked for me.

[VROC]
Address=racelist.vroc.net
Greg Taber

#17 Claudio Pablo Navonne

Claudio Pablo Navonne

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 1,052 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Buenos Aires, Argentina

Posted 11 October 2018 - 05:04 PM

View PostBo Bruce, on 11 October 2018 - 10:20 AM, said:

joining via GPL/multi is fine. for some it might be the only way ~

Claudio - HOW did you 'fix' getting racelist?

View PostJMF, on 11 October 2018 - 04:59 PM, said:

Thanks for starting the server Bruce, and thank you Rob for reminding him about VROC.

I know the address in the vroc.ini had changed at times when I was last using it. I think this is the default address that gets installed. It's worked for me.

[VROC]
Address=racelist.vroc.net
I did the same thing Greg did.
Member of AtlasF1 GPL/NR2003/Mods/etc.

#18 Aljones

Aljones

    Member

  • Members
  • 98 posts

Posted 12 October 2018 - 05:07 AM

Hello, Niky sent me an email saying this:

" I  can't connect thru Multiplayer. Don't know why, but it tries to use the VirtualBox network interface, not the real network cable and I don't know where to change this.

n't connect thru Multiplayer. Don't know why, but it tries to use the VirtualBox network interface, not the real network cable and I don't know where to change this. "

Anybody has an idea ? thanks

Alain
" Racing is Life, the rest is just .... waiting "

#19 BurtAugust

BurtAugust

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 2,208 posts

Posted 12 October 2018 - 08:43 AM

Where do you make the VROC settings change above ?

#20 DDodge

DDodge

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 1,607 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:39N 94W
  • Interests:GPL, Dual Purpose motorbikes, Sailing, Tennis, Dakar, Pets, my Mini Cooper S

Posted 12 October 2018 - 09:03 AM

If you're talking about the core.ini thing, Burt, it is one of the options in the box that comes up when you click on join.

Don
Confuscious say: "War not determine who right, war determine who left."




Sim Racing Links