Adc Members System Specs


  • Please log in to reply
112 replies to this topic

#1 David Fletcher

David Fletcher

    ADC Founder

  • ADC Admins
  • 6,222 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Akron Ohio USA
  • Interests:SimRacing

Posted 29 May 2008 - 02:16 PM

We had a discussion in pre-race chat last night about putting a thread here detailing our system specs. It's not intended as a 'mine's bigger than yours' competition at all, but rather just a reference of sorts. If anyone is building a new system, or needs to replace some parts and is not sure what to buy, perhaps something like this could be of benefit. I know when I was building my system, it would have been nice to have something to look through, to perhaps ask the owners how a particular piece of hardware worked for them, etc.

So to that end, here is my current setup:

2.66G Core2Duo Penryn CPU running at 1333mhz
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L Intel P35 chipset mainboard
2G Corsair 800mhz Ram
MSI 9600GT OC 512mb video card
Creative Audigy sound card (early model)
2x160G SATA WD hard drives
21" NEC CRT Monitor
430W Thermaltake PSU (I realize now that I under-bought on the PSU, but it works perfectly)

Performance-wise, the system grades out at over 14,000 on 3DMark06. I run GPL, GTL, and GTR2 all at 1280x1024 resolution. GPL has all graphic options on, 16x Anisotropic Filtering (no AA), 100% detail, and stays locked on 36fps pretty much everywhere. For GTL and GTR2, I'm running in DX9, most graphic options on high or max, and they run smooth as silk, even in rain conditions. FPS varies of course, but I rarely see it below the 80's in both sims, and frequently see it in the high 100's, low 200's, and even higher in some cases. I've never had a system anywhere near these specs, and to say I'm estatic would be a gross understatement :-)

Next?

Fletch
"In racing as in life, you're either in someone's way, or they're in yours..."

#2 Petteri Pajunen

Petteri Pajunen

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 137 posts
  • Location:Helsinki, Finland

Posted 29 May 2008 - 02:40 PM

Mine's a bit outdated but works well for GPL.

AMD Athlon 64 X2 2.1 GHz CPU
Asus M2NPV-VM mobo, with ADI Soundmax integrated sound
Asus EN 8400GS SILENT 256 Mb graphics card
1 GB Kingston 667 MHz RAM
Samsung Spinpoint 250 GB hard drive
20" Samsung 205BW LCD monitor 1680x1050 resolution
300 W PSU (plenty of power for my system)

I run linux only. Racing sims that work are GPL (at 1120x700 resolution, 36 fps almost every track), Live For Speed (medium settings 25-50 fps), BMW M3 Challenge (runs so-so, don't like it). None of these are native linux games so I have to use Wine (provides Windows API+more so windows software can run in linux). GPL works quite well, as you might guess since I'm participating in ADC races. LFS runs well, but I've only tried offline so far (ditto for M3 Challenge).

Edited by Petteri Pajunen, 29 May 2008 - 02:55 PM.

Petteri Pajunen
"Fast drivers drive too slow, slow drivers drive too fast"
"Always say what you think. If you can't, then change your thinking."
Current GPL Rank

#3 Rob Bakker

Rob Bakker

    GTL European Director

  • ADC Admins
  • 6,422 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 29 May 2008 - 03:09 PM

Intel C2D E6600 @ 3.6 Ghz.*
Asus P5N32-E SLI 680i*
2 8800GTS 640mb in SLI @ 575/850*
2GB Kingston PC6400
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer
Samsung 226BW 22"
250GB WD Sata HD
Thermaltake Toughpower 750w
*=watercooled

I haven't played GPL in a while, but I get 36 fps with everything at max.
The soundcard was added for GPL, because I had stutters on my screen when I used the onboard sound on my mobo.
The X-fi card fixed that.

In GTL and GTR2 I have everything on high or full on DX9.
Everything is running smooth, with high fps. Some where between 150-250fps in the races.
The only time the fps drops in GTL is when there are lots of cars on screen and lots of effects.
And than it still only goes down to 80-100 fps.
GTR2 runs even a little better. The only time I see fps below 100 is when there is a big field ahead in the rain.

The 2 8800 cars in SLI didn't really help the fps in GTL/GTR2.
It made it all a lot smoother and I can use higher FSAA settings.
GTL and GTR2 are very hard on the CPU. Even OCed from 2.4 to 3.6Ghz, the CPU is still the bottle neck.

We have talked about this in chat a few times and I think any recent GFX card (8800 GTX, GTS, GT) will work as long as you have a powerfull CPU. At least to get the best out of the card.
Rob.

ADC GTL Race Reports - Statistics and GTL car specs.

http://www.worldcommunitygrid.org/

#4 Andi Cole

Andi Cole

    GTR2/GTL Advisor

  • ADC Admins
  • 5,527 posts
  • Location:South East England

Posted 30 May 2008 - 01:48 AM

Intel C2D X6800 2.93 currently at 3.1 testing water cooling.
Asus Striker Extreme
4GB OCZ SLI memory
Twin 250GB SATA RAID 1 disk set
Twin EVGA 8800 GTX KO video cards
X-Fi extreme gamer
LG 24" TFT
850W Etasis ET850 SLi PSU
Zalman Water cooled
Logitech Z-5450 speakers
Logitech G25 Wheel with ECCI pedals
Win XP Pro
VPP RRP

I'm running at 1920*1200 and get silly fps at times in GTR2 depending on track and conditions - T1 at Dubai I think has produced nearly 500!! In general though same as Rob 150-250 is normal in all conditions.

I have difficulty running GPL for some reason it keeps messing with the graphics.

Race 07 runs at around the 150 fps.

Crysis runs around 50fps maxed out under XP but a little less in Vista where it is also not very smooth. I can't see much of a difference in Crysis between DX9 and DX10.

The water cooling was very simple and has reduced the noise greatly.

Andi.
http://picasaweb.google.com/andicole0 - http://andiscobra.blogspot.com/ - http://www.tomsrush.blogspot.com/
Intel Core i7 2600K, Asrock Z68 Extreme 7 Gen 3, 8GB Corsair Vengence, 250GB Intel 510 SSD, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB, 2 x GTX480 SLI, 8800GTX. 2 x DVDRW. Win 7 SP1.Logitech Z5450, Zalman water cooling. Zalman Level 10 GT Case.G25 Wheel with ECCI pedals.

#5 Graham H

Graham H

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 1,671 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Oslo, Norway

Posted 30 May 2008 - 03:15 AM

ASUS P5N32-E SLI nForce-680i
Intel 6600 Core Duo @ 2.40GHz
2 GB RAM TwinMOS DDR2 PC6400
XFX GeForce 8800GTX 600M 768MB XT GDDR3 600/1900Mhz
Creative SB X-Fi XtremeGamer
Samsung SpinPoint T166 500GB SATA2 16MB 7200RPM
Samsung 275T (27")
Logitech MX518 mouse
Microsoft Wired Keyboard 500, PS/2
Logitech G25 Wheel

GTR2 at 1920x1200 with 6x AA and 60-120 fps
GPL runs well at 1920x1200 with OpenGL after getting some tips from guys here about how to adjust the resolution etc.
Race07 can cause some stutters if I try to run it with everything maxed out.

Edited by Graham H, 31 May 2008 - 01:27 AM.

Graham    Posted Image

Posted Image

#6 Steve Walsh

Steve Walsh

    GTR2 European Director

  • ADC Admins
  • 1,557 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Herts, UK

Posted 30 May 2008 - 05:00 AM

Intel Core2Duo E6600 2.4GHz @ 3GHz
Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme Heatsink
4GB Crucial Ballistixs PC2-8500C5
BFG nForce 680i SLI Motherboard
2 x BFG 8800GTX OC 768mb SLI
Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty
Cyber Acoustics A5640RB 6-Piece Speakers 140W True RMS Hi-End
2 x Western Digital 150GB Raptor drives (1 for Vista64 1 for Games installs)
1 x Western Digital 36GB Raptor (XP OS)
2 x Western Digital 500GB Data Drives
LiteOn DVD-RW
Dell 24" Screen 1920x1200
Lian Li PC-P80 Armorsuit Case
Thermaltake ToughPower 1200W Modular PSU
Razer Lachesis Mouse
Logitech G25
TrackIR 4 Pro


As Rob mentions above the CPU is my system bottleneck, don't run GPL but GTR2 is very nice with everything maxed out, Vista is still a lot slower than XP especially with changable weather in the rain.



SteveW

Edited by Steve Walsh, 30 May 2008 - 05:01 AM.

Posted Image

Posted Image

Team OFRacing
ADC Race Results

STES Season 2 runner up.
STES Season 3 runner up.

#7 flyingkiwi69

flyingkiwi69

    Junior Member

  • ADC
  • 11 posts
  • Location:Vienna, Austria

Posted 30 May 2008 - 05:26 AM

Hey guys!

Mine is a little different...

I run it all on a ASUS G1 laptop.

Intel Core 2 Duo 2.00GHz T7200 667MHz FSB 4MB L2 Cache
2GB Ram
160GB HDD
Nvidia GO 7700 - using 175.12 drivers
Vista
Have a Logitech FF EX
Runs GPL no worries at 1680x1050 using D3D with everything except arms on!  Only in a very few instances do I get less than 36fps.  I did have a problem with the sound but turned down the hardware accel. and now sweet as!

Running the new rasterizers as well - sweet!!!

Still not able to stay on the track though :bangin:

Jon

#8 catty

catty

    Trevor Catt

  • ADC
  • 660 posts
  • Location:Wilberfoss Yorkshire
  • Interests:Arsenal football club, Cricket ,Sim Racing and Walking

Posted 30 May 2008 - 10:35 AM

Heres mine


Intel Quad Q6600 @2.4
memory 2gb
Graphics 7900GS
320gb harddrive
600w psu
20" Flat monitor
Audigy 4 pro
Logitech 5.1 speakers
Windows XP

G25 Wheel and pedals  :gpler:

I get over 100 fps on line on most tracks with a full field. With graphics on Max or high

Trevor :beerchug:

Edited by catty, 30 May 2008 - 10:36 AM.


#9 Frank Steinbach

Frank Steinbach

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 614 posts

Posted 30 May 2008 - 10:42 AM

Intel Core2Duo E4300 1,8 GHz @ 3GHz
Scythe Mine Heatsink
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3 Motherboard
2GB A-Data Extreme DDR2 RAM
NVIDIA Geforce 8800 GTS 512 - using 175.16 Drivers
Creative Audigy 2 ZS
2 x 250GB Samsung SATA HD
Acer AL2216W 22" LCD
Enermax Liberty 500w PSU
Logitech DFP Wheel, G15 Gaming Keyboard, MX518 Mouse
Win XP Pro + SP3 for gaming
Linux Ubuntu for pretty much else

Running my games at the monitorīs native 1680x1050 resolution.
GPL with the new rasterizers runs and looks like a dream at 100%detail settings, 16AF and 4AA.
GTL/GTR2 with  most settings on high/max, rarely getting below 80 FPS. Rain making the all the difference though!
RFactor/ARCA are basically the same like GTL/GTR2 in the FPS department on my rig. The later profiting a lot from the latest patch.

Everytime I think my system is really great and hard to beat I fire up MS latest Fightsimulator and Iīm back to reality! ;)



Frank
Frank

#10 Tom Johnson

Tom Johnson

    ADC GPL Director

  • ADC Admins
  • 5,907 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA

Posted 31 May 2008 - 08:49 AM

AMD Athlon XP 3000+ @ 2.17 GHz
Leadtek Winfast  K7NCR18D-Pro nForce2 Motherboard
Radeon X800 GTO 256mb
1GB Corsair 333 MHz Ram
Nvidia nForce onboard sound
80GB WD ATA 100 (just used for Race Sims) Removable drive bay, Win XP Pro
120GB Maxtor ATA 133 (used for everything else) Removable drive bay, Win XP Home
120GB Maxtor ATA 133 (used for storage)
Samsung 245BW 24”  1920x1200 resolution
500W Antec Earthwatts

I run everything at the monitors native resolution of 1920x1200. Gpl runs fine on most all tracks with a few exceptions, but some of the strategy games have some major slow downs when there are a lot of units and action, and first person shooters give some problems. I am looking at building a system similar to Dave's as soon as I get all the bills from my kitchen remodel paid off. I tried to run Linux Ubuntu on my system but it would never complete the bootup, but it worked great on two of my older systems that I use as servers. Yes Frank, MS Flight Simulator is a major resource hog, I would like to know what they programmed it to work on. Some of the new games, even the recommended system requirements are not enough to use much detail.

Edited by Tom Johnson, 31 May 2008 - 08:58 AM.


#11 linklemming

linklemming

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 139 posts
  • Location:Colorado

Posted 02 June 2008 - 05:52 PM

An off the shelf Dell XPS 410 with upgraded video card

IntelŪ Core™2 Duo Processor E6600 (4MB L2 Cache,2.4GHz,1066 FSB)
2GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz
250GB Serial ATA 3Gb/s Hard Drive (7200RPM) w/DataBurst Cache
evGA 8800GTX with stock clock speeds operating in SLI mode
Triplehead2go
3 monitors at 3840x1024 resolution

GTL and GTR2 settings - max everything except shadows (medium) and 20ish AI cars on grid.

GTL - worst framerate is with 320 BMW.  50FPS at race start up to 80-100FPS during race at Dijon GP.  Most stock GTL cars start at 80FPS and max about 120FPS.

GTR2 - worst framerate with MX-5 cup mod.  No amount of detail seems to make this significantly better.  15-20FPS at start with max of 30FPS.  Most other cars start around 70FPS at race start and end up about 120FPS during race.  For online, GTR2 has issues with these resolutions so I have to run in windowed mode at 2800x970.  Probably a 10FPS increase from that.

Ironically, setting resolution to 1280x1024 doesnt seem to change this much (more than 20FPS) so it seems that GTL and GTR2 are more CPU bound than GPU bound.

I am happy with this for GTL and GTR2.

Gary

#12 Steelman

Steelman

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 982 posts
  • Location:Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
  • Interests:GPL ( natch).online and offline racing. Music(playing pedal steel guitar)..Fly Fishing and Fly Tying. Model Railroading ( currently in HO Fine Scale)<br />and stirring my Aussie mates :)

Posted 03 June 2008 - 11:20 AM

Guess I`ll add mine too..for what it`s worth :P

AMD 64`Athlon` Venice 3200+
Avus 8Vn Mobo
X-Fi Extreme gamer sound card
ATI Radeon 9550 gfx card
450W PSU
1GB Ram
80 GB HD
Acer AL1916W LCD monitor  (19"wide screen ) @ 1024 x 768
Centrios Powered speakers  ( + headphones for when the wifes asleep  :P )
Logitech G25 wheel ( using shifter and right foot braking)
DIY home made cockpit from Micro-sim Racebase

Only running GPL  and Thundercars
67s..65s. 69s  and TCs

PC also used for e-mails and web-sites for music/racing/ model trains.

Runs GPL and TC really well now...found  the 66s a bit heavy gfx-wise  so have left them off for the time being.....36+fps at just about all tracks with full grid of 19 AI + myself......haven`t had any stutters, blips, or shut-downs for a while now  ( fingers crossed and touch wood ),  next thing to add is a 5-way speaker system to attach to the cockpit :)

So far no issues and hoping it remains that way.

As you can see...nothing very fancy but it works  and that`s the main thing.


Glyn
(slow old GIT making like a  :gpler: (almost) :huh: )
Posted Image


Start of GPLRank     + 195.697
UPDATED Sept.22-07 +124.972  Coming down slowly :)
Updated May 14th 2008   +121.852
                        


( The hurrider I goes the behinder I gets )

#13 Bernd Nowak

Bernd Nowak

    Albino

  • Admin
  • 3,678 posts

Posted 03 June 2008 - 11:29 AM

And my new one:

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300
2 * 4096MB-Kit Corsair TWIN2X DHX PC800/6400 CL4
Club3D 8800GTS, 512MB
Creative Sound Blaster X-FI Xtreme Gamer
2 * HITACHI DeskStar T7K500 500GB SATA II
MSI P7N SLI Platinum
Windows Vista business 64bit

It's not meant to be primary as a sim PC hence the 8 GB Ram & Quad Core CPU. For games it would have been 4 GB RAM and a dual core with a 32bit OS. But I use Vmware a lot for my working and it's running great :)

GPL runs great too !

UPS: Steering wheel is a Logitech DFP or a Logitech Momo. Pedals are the VPP ones.
ADC FAQ
Bob Simpsons FAQ
Duisburg Ruhrort, Germany

#14 Syd Drake

Syd Drake

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 1,766 posts

Posted 08 June 2008 - 11:18 PM

AMD Athlon X2 4800+
2 GB 800MHz DDR2  Ram
GeForce 6800 Ultra
250GB SATA HDD
21" CRT Monitor
"I know not with what weapons World War III will be fought, but World War IV will be fought with sticks and stones."
Albert Einstein

#15 Pär Öqvist

Pär Öqvist

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 3,187 posts

Posted 09 June 2008 - 03:47 AM

My computer is FSX approved. I am not saying I can max out FSX there is no such thing unless you truly have a super computer :D But so far it plays everything. Crysis and FSX is which I have had to tweak a lot. Crysis I played pretty much max out in very high with the DX 10 in xp tweak. Itīs not real DX 10 and there is some canned effects but that is hardly noticable from the Vista version. Smoke is pretty much the only thing you can spot is better in DX 10 mode. the sacrifice I did was no AA and no depth of field junk effects that looks crap only a plus :).

Most other titles I run at my vsync 60 fps not GTR 2 in rain and in darkness of course...

Coolermaster Stacker first revision.
Mostly Swiftech watercooling gear. MCR330 radiator, MCW60 GPU waterblock, Apogee CPU block. Laing DDC 2 if I am not remembering wrong pump. Awesome pumps a lot of fluid and totally silent.
Silverstone Zeus 850W
Asus Commando i965 mainboard
Core 2 DUO E6600 at 3,6 gig
Leadtek 8800 GTX
4x1 GB teamgroup Extreme DDR 2 800 memory
2x WD 500 KS
1x WD 74 gig Raptor
1x Seagate 7200.10 500 mb harddrive
soundblaster X-fi Elite PRO soundcard
TrackIR 4

Sound. Pure digitheatre platinum 5.1 ht  speakers (Recently figured out how to get dolby encoding to work on my X-fi :D)
Ultrasone Proline 750 powered by Heed Canamp
Buttkicker gamer and a newly purchased Buttkicker LFE for my new nixim cockpit

Wheels
Fanatec 911 Turbo Wheel (much much much better then the G25)
Logitech G25 (toy wheel after testing the above except for the pedals :()

I also have a philips ambx setup but that is mostly for music and movies and other game genres then racing.
Soon getting a novint Falcon

Consoles
Xbox 360 (collecting dust mostly)
Wii

cockpits
old and now sold:
Playseat Classic
Playseat Evolution

In process since february!!!
Nixim Racecraft GT (ordered the Polecat but due to problems that causes this extremely long wait I got it upgraded to GT for free :)). Ordered it with a recliner seat, casters, flight sim addon, keyboard tray

Now the key to my system
I waited quite long to replace my old CRT because the LCD displays never seemed to catch up the image quality and such. After looking at HMD and such also considering plasma but those are not that good as computer monitors I bought a Sony KDL 32V2000 some year/years ago. It doesnīt have the image quality of the CRT but at the time was one of the first to get really close to the best plasmas. the larger format and widescreen does more then make out for the poor contrast, black levels, speed sensation, and absolutely no input lag my old CRT had. I seemed to be slower with a larger screen I donīt know if it become to much real I feel I have to push myself much harder then I really want to nowadays to go fast. Maybe a sign of getting older lol.

The reason I bought this was due to the resolution. Itīs only 720p which made it cheaper then the 1080p screens and in movies itīs almost impossible to see a difference. With such a large screen you donīt sit that close to it. No point since you canīt take in the entire image and you loose even more speed sensation and the human eye are not very good at picking up very small details. I want to sit about 180 cm from my screen and then of course you donīt pick up as much detail as when I sat with my nose in front of my old 22" CRT at 1600x1200.

If I would have gone for a 1080p or one of the 2XXX/15XX computer monitors I would probably spend more money on the screen and more money on my video cards with very little gain :)

So very happy with this computer though with the water cooling setup. I have thick 1/2" tubing which in the stacker is really crowded with tubes already I donīt look forward to the day I have to upgrade or exchange my 8800 GTX and have to redo it all again lol.
Posted Image
Posted Image

#16 Jim Carvalho

Jim Carvalho

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 4,095 posts

Posted 09 June 2008 - 09:22 PM

Reality check:

ASUS A7N8X mb
AMD Athlon 2500
512 MB DRAM
2 40GB HD's
GeForce 5700
22" Samsung LCD
Logitech Momo FF, Ol' red
Win2000

I've also got an Apple Macbook Pro that I just got running WinXP Pro under "Bootcamp." I haven't loaded any sims yet. I'll keep you posted if anyone's interested. The machine's got a 2GHz DualCore Intel processor, 2GB Ram, an 80GB HD, and a Radeon X1600 graphics card with 128MB.

I found a copy of GTR2 that includes GTL for $19. I may give it a try on the Mac.

So, do I get the "low-end" award? :D

Jim
"The best dividends on the labor invested have invariably come from seeking more knowledge rather than more power." Wilbur and Orville Wright.

#17 Sbart_uk

Sbart_uk

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 258 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northampton, England
  • Interests:GPL, Formula Ford, Classic F1 oh and beer ;)

Posted 24 June 2008 - 10:00 AM

My New system...

Motherboard - Asus Striker 2 Extreme
            CPU - QuadCore 45nm Q9450 @ 3.5GHZ
            Ram - 4GB corsair dominator @1066mhz
            GFX - 2x EVGA 9800gx2 (Quad SLI)

I've got every game maxxed out with this system GTR2 cannot slow it down even in the rain at night with a full field at 125% detail and full AA. The only game that can make it struggle a bit is Crysis.

Edited by Sbart_uk, 24 June 2008 - 10:02 AM.

Remember, Sideways is the Way Forward

#18 mogwai

mogwai

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 950 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Helotes
  • Interests:iRacing, long format Sportcar racing

Posted 30 June 2008 - 02:06 PM

View PostRob Bakker, on May 29 2008, 04:09 PM, said:

Intel C2D E6600 @ 3.6 Ghz.*
Asus P5N32-E SLI 680i*
2 8800GTS 640mb in SLI @ 575/850*
2GB Kingston PC6400
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer
Samsung 226BW 22"
250GB WD Sata HD
Thermaltake Toughpower 750w
*=watercooled

Rob - I think our machines are long lost brothers.

P5N32-E SLI Deluxe
Intel P940 Prescott 3.2Ghz - not overclocked
2Gb Kingston RAM (single stick - slot A1) PC6400 also
1 EVGA 8800 GTS Nvidia
onboard sound
Thermaltake Toughpower 750w
Dell UltraSharp 27" Wide Flat Panel
Antec nine hundred case
4 Seagate 500 Gb Barracuda's (RAID 5)
1 Seagate 320 Gb Barracuda

mog

Edited by mogwai, 30 June 2008 - 07:55 PM.


#19 David Kennard

David Kennard

    GTR2 Americas Director

  • ADC Admins
  • 2,149 posts
  • Location:Arlington, VA USA
  • Interests:Racing (D'oh), Sim and Real World.

Posted 30 June 2008 - 05:36 PM

PC:

ASUS P5N32-SLI Deluxe
Intel P4 3.00 ghz
2gb Corsair XMS2 (PC6400)
EVGA 8800 GTS 640mb
40gb + 200gb Harddrives
Gateway FPD2485W 24" Monitor
Lian Li Aluminium Case
Win XP

Gear:

Logitech:
G25 Wheel
G15 Keyboard
MX518 Mouse
X-540 Speakers

Playseat Evolution
Buttkicker Gamer

Thanks Duane for some of the great gear above  :bowdown:

ps: Quick question, I have been using the SLI system above with 2 x 6600 GT's until this past Christmas when I got the 8800GTS.
My other system (which has been my media computer) is a non-SLI ASUS P5WD2 Premium with a Pentium D 805 (2.66ghz / 533fsb).
This was Intel's budget Dual Core CPU ( http://www.legitrevi...article/334/1/) that came out in April 2006,
since I am just using the one video card now I was wondering if the PD805 2.66ghz was actually the CPU I should be using over the P4 3.00ghz?

Here is a picture of Duane working into the night on his new computer:
Posted Image

And here is a picture once his new creation boots up on the first try
Posted Image
It's Alive!

#20 R Kennard

R Kennard

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 488 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Idaho, USA

Posted 01 July 2008 - 01:08 AM

My new computer has a birthday..........June 30 2008!

Still a Frankenstein..........my first creation........Still has the bolts showing and panels off muahhhhaaa haaaaa.....

Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0 GHZ CPU(will be overclocked soon...)

EVGA 790i Ultra SLI DDR3 ATX MB

Coolmax CUQ-1200 watt PSU

EVGA 9800 GTX KO 512MB 675MHZ GPU (will be overclocked soon...)

two - 750GB Samsung Spinpoint F1 HDD

one - 20X Lite-On DVD/RW

one - 22X Samsung DVD/RW

Tuniq Tower 120 CPU cooler

4GB (2 X 2GB) OCZ Reaper DDR3 1333 RAM (not sure it's gonna work with my MB yet, fingers crossed)

Vista sixty-fo bit (fingers crossed)

CoolerMaster Cosmos S case

Dell UltraSharp 24"

Logitech Z-5500

Race gear:

Momo

G15 Keyboard

Edited by R Kennard, 01 July 2008 - 10:37 AM.

i7 920| EVGA X58 Classified | EVGA GTX 260 triple SLI | 6GB Corsair DDR3 RAM | ATCS 840 | Win 7 64-bit | Logitech G-15, G-25Posted Image




Sim Racing Links