Adc Members System Specs


  • Please log in to reply
112 replies to this topic

#41 Andi Cole

Andi Cole

    GTR2/GTL Advisor

  • ADC Admins
  • 5,527 posts
  • Location:South East England

Posted 27 October 2008 - 10:44 AM

I have my doubts over Vista 64, but I have recently started playing all games in Vista if they support DX10, Stalker Clear Sky and Far Cry 2 look absolutely gorgeous.

It looks like Vantage also uses all the CPU cores, which most games don't so I think there's a distorted figure for quad cores if we're looking for games performance testing.

Andi.
http://picasaweb.google.com/andicole0 - http://andiscobra.blogspot.com/ - http://www.tomsrush.blogspot.com/
Intel Core i7 2600K, Asrock Z68 Extreme 7 Gen 3, 8GB Corsair Vengence, 250GB Intel 510 SSD, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB, 2 x GTX480 SLI, 8800GTX. 2 x DVDRW. Win 7 SP1.Logitech Z5450, Zalman water cooling. Zalman Level 10 GT Case.G25 Wheel with ECCI pedals.

#42 R Kennard

R Kennard

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 488 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Idaho, USA

Posted 27 October 2008 - 06:59 PM

I was trying to see what I could get from my graphics card and was getting lower scores with successful test with higher settings.  So I thought, wtf, let me try to establish my "benchmark" and went back to "known" settings.

So, I went back to the known settings where I got the P12061 with GPU of 9897 and I'm way down....I'm down to GPU of 9160......I'm down over 700 points!

Do ambient temperatures matter that much?  It is about 5 degrees C warmer than when I got the better score.

CPU score is down a few hundred points.

I'm new to this benchmarking overclocking thing.

Duane

Edited by R Kennard, 27 October 2008 - 07:24 PM.

i7 920| EVGA X58 Classified | EVGA GTX 260 triple SLI | 6GB Corsair DDR3 RAM | ATCS 840 | Win 7 64-bit | Logitech G-15, G-25Posted Image

#43 R Kennard

R Kennard

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 488 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Idaho, USA

Posted 27 October 2008 - 07:28 PM

View PostRob Bakker, on Oct 27 2008, 10:14 AM, said:

This HD is one week old and has a dual boot with XP 32bit and Vista 64bit.
Vista was only installed 2 days ago. Should be fresh enough. :)

The RAM has been tested and like the other sticks I had in this system before, are OK with memtest.

This are 3DMark Vantage scores, so we are all using Vista, right? Vantage only works on Vista AFAIK.

I'm still running GTL, GTR2 and rFactor on WinXP. Vista was just to try a few things.
It is a new install. SLI is working. I will check the quality settings.


Can't get much more recent than that!

Yeah, Vantage for Vista, I thought I saw XP earlier my mistake.

I have forsaken XP, was gonna run a dual boot system but I just don't have time for it and GTR2 is running fine (touch wood) on Vista.  

Your quoting P scores in Vantage so just wanna make sure you are running the tests in "performance" mode and not manually setting your own screen resolutions or other settings which will lower your scores.

Duane
i7 920| EVGA X58 Classified | EVGA GTX 260 triple SLI | 6GB Corsair DDR3 RAM | ATCS 840 | Win 7 64-bit | Logitech G-15, G-25Posted Image

#44 Rob Bakker

Rob Bakker

    GTL European Director

  • ADC Admins
  • 6,422 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 28 October 2008 - 10:20 AM

Yes, I was running in "preformance" mode.

I ran 3DMark06 again to see how that did on XP and Vista.
Without OC I get 13600(XP) and 13300(Vista)
Sounds about right for my system without OC.

GTL and GTR2 are running fine on XP at the moment, so I'm not going to worry to much right now. :)
Rob.

ADC GTL Race Reports - Statistics and GTL car specs.

http://www.worldcommunitygrid.org/

#45 Tom Johnson

Tom Johnson

    ADC GPL Director

  • ADC Admins
  • 5,814 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA

Posted 20 December 2008 - 06:44 PM

View PostRob Bakker, on Dec 19 2008, 04:30 PM, said:

It doesn't look like I will make it.
I'm trying to get my gaming pc rebuild. Got every thing in a new case and when I try to start it nothing happens. :(

Tried different things and it looks like the mobo is dead.  :weeping:
Rob,
Did you get all new components or are you using some from your old system? How much of an upgrade are you doing? I'm still looking to upgrade sometime in the near future. I have been pricing everything for the past few months, and just when I'm about ready to start buying, the next level of PC components drops in price and I delay to see if it will fit my budget. I guess sometime I'll just have to bite the bullet and start buying stuff, or this could go on for a long time.

#46 Rob Bakker

Rob Bakker

    GTL European Director

  • ADC Admins
  • 6,422 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 21 December 2008 - 07:02 AM

View PostTom Johnson, on Dec 21 2008, 01:44 AM, said:

I guess sometime I'll just have to bite the bullet and start buying stuff, or this could go on for a long time.
That is what I did. I had planned to build it in my vacation. So I knew when I had to have all the parts.
I just got what would give the best performance within my budget at that time.

The new system doesn't share any parts with the last system that I buikd.

As you may have seen, I had lockup problems that I could fix. http://forums.speedg...showtopic=27081
I have tried everything. And in the end I still think it is the 8800's that are causing the probems.

So I have decided to Start over with and new case (no watercooling this time) And a new GFX260.
I only used the newer parts that I got when I tried to find the problem. And my parent will get a fast pc soon. :)
Got it all in the new case and it didn't boot.

Turns out the mobo is dead. So I got a cheap demo Gigabyte P35-DS3L from a store here.
Now it all works and the performace is a little better with the GTX260 compared to the 8800's in SLI. :)

I know tihis mobo isn't the best you can get, but it does the job so far. It isn't great for overclocking, but I will see about that later.

This is what I have in my system now.

Intel C2D E8400
Gigabyte P35-DS3L
OCZ Reaper HPC PC2-6400 4GB
Asus ENGTX260
SAMSUNG HD502IJ  (500 GB, 7200 RPM, SATA-II)
Thermaltake Toughpower 750 Watt
Rob.

ADC GTL Race Reports - Statistics and GTL car specs.

http://www.worldcommunitygrid.org/

#47 Jim Carvalho

Jim Carvalho

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 4,092 posts

Posted 21 December 2008 - 11:54 AM

Even my wife is complaining about how slow our computer is getting; so a new one is in our future, too. Obviously I'm watching this thread closely. I recently got some advice that 2 SLI video cards might be faster and cheaper than a single 9800 card. The high end quad-core AMD cpus are pretty close to the better C2D's and cheaper.

Jim
"The best dividends on the labor invested have invariably come from seeking more knowledge rather than more power." Wilbur and Orville Wright.

#48 Graham H

Graham H

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 1,671 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Oslo, Norway

Posted 21 December 2008 - 05:14 PM

View PostJim Carvalho, on Dec 21 2008, 06:54 PM, said:

I recently got some advice that 2 SLI video cards might be faster and cheaper than a single 9800 card.
I would go for the 9800 card if I was you Jim. It is a very cheap card delivering the same perfomance as a 8800 at a third of the price they were at a year ago. And it runs fairly cool.

With the price of it as low as it is, I find it hard to believe that you can get 2 cards that together will be faster. A lot of the pc-crashes that have been reported her have been with SLI systems. It might work great in some games and crash all the time in others. There are just too many components that have to work in perfect sync at very high speeds, video cards, pci-e bus, memory and memory bus and so on.

It doesnt seem to be worth it to save what cannot be more than $20. It isnt for no reason, I think that the latest trend is to put both "cards" on one card, and make graphic cards with 2 GPU's.

Oh yeah and Jim, my wife has been saying "Aren't you going to get a new computer soon?" cause she wants the old one which is faster that the one she has.

@Rob. Are you sure that the 260 is as fast as 2x 8800 in SLI? I was sort of expecting it to be the next of the x600 series, 7600, 8600, 9600, 260, while the 280 was the equivalent for the x800 series, 7800, 8800, 9800, 280. For that reason I was expecting the 260 to be slightly less or slightly more than a 9800. I am not surprised it would be faster than a single 8800 or 9800, but a bit surprised it is faster than two.

Edited by Graham H, 21 December 2008 - 05:15 PM.

Graham    Posted Image

Posted Image

#49 Jim Carvalho

Jim Carvalho

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 4,092 posts

Posted 21 December 2008 - 06:01 PM

Thanks, as always, Graham. My source knows networking, more than PC's. I would think the mobo would be more expensive as well.

Jim
"The best dividends on the labor invested have invariably come from seeking more knowledge rather than more power." Wilbur and Orville Wright.

#50 Graham H

Graham H

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 1,671 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Oslo, Norway

Posted 21 December 2008 - 07:43 PM

View PostJim Carvalho, on Dec 22 2008, 01:01 AM, said:

Thanks, as always, Graham. My source knows networking, more than PC's. I would think the mobo would be more expensive as well.

Jim

Your welcome Jim. It is very difficult to keep track of all the models out there today. For example I am talking about 9800 GTX with 512MB and I say memory is important so you might be forgiven for thinking a 9800 GT with 1GB would be better. But it doesn't appear to be.

It also depends on your monitor. If you have a widescreen LCD with 1680x1050 or 1920x1200 then memory plays a bigger role than if you have a lower resolution. Another thing is we have only been talking about nVidia cards but ATI have made a comeback. A couple of hardward test sites I have visited show the ATI Radeon HD 4850 to be the best bang for the buck and it can outperform the 9800 GTX at a similar price. The HD 4850 is also available in 1GB models.

Check out Best Video Cards For The Money it gives you card recomendations for different price ranges.

@Rob I had a look over at Toms Hardware and it was interesting. It depends a lot on what benchmark (3dmark, crysis, etc), what resolution, how much Anti-aliasing, what model card (there are a lot of 8800 Gsomethings out there) and not least how much memory they have.

You can find tests showing 8800 xx SLI faster than GTX 260, and tests showing the opposite, much depends on the amount of memory on the 8800 cards. But after looking at them I have to agree that the performance of the 260 GTX is quite similar to 8800's in SLI.

For me it was interesting to compare the 260 GTX (nok. 2700,-) with my 9800 GTX (nok.1700,-) The 9800 GTX is supposed to be more or less a newer version of the 8800 GTX that cost nok. 4600,- last year.  In the Crysis test at 1680x1050 and 1920x1200 resolutions the 260 was 10% faster with no AA and 60%-100% faster with 4AA+8AF. Again memory is important at high resolution and with AA, and the 9800 GTX only has 512MB compared to 896MB on the 260 GTX. Since my monitor's native resolution is 1920x1200 I guess I better lay off the AA in GTR-evo ;)
Graham    Posted Image

Posted Image

#51 Rob Bakker

Rob Bakker

    GTL European Director

  • ADC Admins
  • 6,422 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 22 December 2008 - 02:41 AM

I just did a 3dmarko6 test. The my last system did 16900 and the new one did 15200.
But the old system was overclocked to 4GHz and the 8800 where on the limit too.

In GTR2 and GTRe I get better fps now and that is what more important.
If the lockups are gone now, I will be very happy. :)
Rob.

ADC GTL Race Reports - Statistics and GTL car specs.

http://www.worldcommunitygrid.org/

#52 R Kennard

R Kennard

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 488 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Idaho, USA

Posted 22 December 2008 - 05:12 PM

View PostRob Bakker, on Dec 22 2008, 01:41 AM, said:

I just did a 3dmarko6 test. The my last system did 16900 and the new one did 15200.
But the old system was overclocked to 4GHz and the 8800 where on the limit too.

In GTR2 and GTRe I get better fps now and that is what more important.
If the lockups are gone now, I will be very happy. :)

Great news Rob, fingers crossed!
i7 920| EVGA X58 Classified | EVGA GTX 260 triple SLI | 6GB Corsair DDR3 RAM | ATCS 840 | Win 7 64-bit | Logitech G-15, G-25Posted Image

#53 Tom Johnson

Tom Johnson

    ADC GPL Director

  • ADC Admins
  • 5,814 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA

Posted 22 December 2008 - 06:12 PM

Keep us updated Rob, because I am interested in using the Intel C2D E8400, with an ASUS P5Q SE P45, and a 9800 GT.

#54 Mr T

Mr T

    Member

  • ADC
  • 51 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South of Oklahoma

Posted 24 December 2008 - 03:13 PM

Guys here are my cheapo sys specs
Mthbd ASUS P5LP-LE
P4 3.2 Ghz CPU w/ HD fan
2 gig of 667 Mhz DDr2 ram
300 Gig SATA hd
nvida 8500 GT PCIe x16 video card  w/ a PCI fan for extra video card cooling
19 inch Samsung CRT monitor at 85 hz refresh rate
XP Pro OS
650W PSU
20W Yamaha stereo speakers w/ 80W Yamaha sub( racing is supposed to be LOUD)
TSTW2 wheel with 3 pedals no FF

I run GPL at 1600x1200 with x16 anisotrophic and x2 AA 32 bit - looks great
100% detail, All graphics options on except arms and skid marks.
36 fps at all parts of all tracks(including Monza 10K and Montjuich) no stutters or hiccups anywhere.
runs GPL smooth as silk.
I do not run any other racing games as GPL takes up enough of my time already.
Somewhere down the road I will upgrade to a flat screen monitor when my budget allows it.

So don't make fun of my meager system, its what I could afford.

Edited by Mr T, 24 December 2008 - 03:15 PM.


#55 Sbart_uk

Sbart_uk

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 258 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northampton, England
  • Interests:GPL, Formula Ford, Classic F1 oh and beer ;)

Posted 25 December 2008 - 07:17 AM

my Vantage score :)

Attached Files


Remember, Sideways is the Way Forward

#56 Graham H

Graham H

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 1,671 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Oslo, Norway

Posted 25 December 2008 - 09:18 AM

View PostMr T, on Dec 24 2008, 10:13 PM, said:

So don't make fun of my meager system, its what I could afford.

That is the great thing about GPL. It is a great race sim that runs with full graphics on what is now cheap hardware. Combine that with the ADC GPL group and you have all the race fun you need. Enjoy mate.

Dont let the fact that a lot of us, are caught up in spiral of upgrades bother you. Most of the high end machines here have been built for FPS games not race games. Although Race07/GTRevo that we have just started to play here does require a stronger machine.
Graham    Posted Image

Posted Image

#57 Rob Bakker

Rob Bakker

    GTL European Director

  • ADC Admins
  • 6,422 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 25 December 2008 - 09:24 AM

View PostMr T, on Dec 24 2008, 10:13 PM, said:

So don't make fun of my meager system, its what I could afford.
We don't do that here. Aslong as it works for you, it is good enough. :)

I wish I could run all my games on my old pc.
Rob.

ADC GTL Race Reports - Statistics and GTL car specs.

http://www.worldcommunitygrid.org/

#58 R Kennard

R Kennard

    Senior Member

  • ADC
  • 488 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Idaho, USA

Posted 25 December 2008 - 12:07 PM

View PostSbart_uk, on Dec 25 2008, 06:17 AM, said:

my Vantage score :)

Good one!  What are your specs?

Duane
i7 920| EVGA X58 Classified | EVGA GTX 260 triple SLI | 6GB Corsair DDR3 RAM | ATCS 840 | Win 7 64-bit | Logitech G-15, G-25Posted Image

#59 Rob Bakker

Rob Bakker

    GTL European Director

  • ADC Admins
  • 6,422 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 25 December 2008 - 12:32 PM

View PostR Kennard, on Dec 25 2008, 07:07 PM, said:

Good one!  What are your specs?
He has posted his specs on the first page of this thread.
Don't think he has another new system already. :P
Rob.

ADC GTL Race Reports - Statistics and GTL car specs.

http://www.worldcommunitygrid.org/

#60 Steve Walsh

Steve Walsh

    GTR2 European Director

  • ADC Admins
  • 1,557 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Herts, UK

Posted 25 December 2008 - 04:08 PM

View PostMr T, on Dec 24 2008, 09:13 PM, said:

So don't make fun of my meager system, its what I could afford.
:rasp: :moon: :bleh:  

Seriously though that is the beauty of GPL and so long as it does what you want then any machine is fit for purpose, it doesn't have to be the latest and greatest if you don't need it  :thumbup:

I've made a few minor upgrades to my machine recently:

Intel Core2Duo E6600 2.4GHz @ 3GHz
Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme Heatsink Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro CPU Cooler
4GB Crucial Ballistixs PC2-8500C5  2 x G.Skill 4GB DDR2 PK PC2-8500C5 (2x2GB)
BFG nForce 680i SLI Motherboard
2 x BFG 8800GTX OC 768mb SLI
Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty
Cyber Acoustics A5640RB 6-Piece Speakers 140W True RMS Hi-End
2 x Western Digital 150GB Raptor drives (1 for Vista64 1 for Games installs)
1 x Western Digital 36GB Raptor (XP OS)
2 x Western Digital 500GB Data Drives 2 x Western Digital 1TB Data Drives
LiteOn DVD-RW
Dell 24" Screen 1920x1200
Lian Li PC-P80 Armorsuit Case
Thermaltake ToughPower 1200W Modular PSU
Razer Lachesis Mouse
Logitech G25
CST Pedals (3 pedal set with floor brackets)
TrackIR 4 Pro

The next upgrade with be the CPU as that is currently the bottleneck in my system, E8600 no doubt followed by a GFX card upgrade to a GTX280 unless something better is out at the time.


SteveW
Posted Image

Posted Image

Team OFRacing
ADC Race Results

STES Season 2 runner up.
STES Season 3 runner up.




Sim Racing Links